We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing extraordinary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alberto's Carreta

Alberto's Carreta
Spui 8, 1012 WZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6268024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,294 of 2,468 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing extraordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Average steakhouse. The meat was OK, the sour cream was missing for the baked potatoes and the salad wasn't good. Lack of ambiance, staff is pretty friendly though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

After checking reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to check this place out. Decor wasn't much to look at but food was excellent! Steaks were well prepared and tender and cooked well! Sideline portions were huge as well so we were very full afterwards. Definitely the best meal we've had in Amsterdam so far. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very well prepared!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visited Albert's Carreta and picked it because of the Uruguayan kitchen. This is just the way you will find grilled steaks in Argentina or Uruguay, grilled, and high quality meat.
If you adore steaks, then this is a good place to go. The meat we had was of an excellent quality and was prepared very well. I had the trio, three different pieces of meat, rare. The temperature was just perfect and it just melts in your mouth.

And: they speak Spanish!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just come back from a stag weekend in Amsterdam and found this little gem. On the outside does not look fancy and across from it was another better looking restaurant but if you can see past it it serves some of the best steaks I had in a very long time. So good we ate there again the next night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Been twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

OMG, this place is amazing, went in December 2013 and again February 2014. Food is amazing and no small portion which is top quality for money. Would definitely recommend

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Carreta also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alberto's Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberto's Carreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.