We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alberto's Carreta

Alberto's Carreta
Spui 8, 1012 WZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6268024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,376 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Latin, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We've been to Amsterdam over 30 times, and every time we head to Alberto's Carreta for a steak.

It used to be great value for money, but recently the prices have crept up, and the quality has come down.

Years ago when we started to visit, you could get a great value steak, cooked to perfection, and seasoned just right. Prices used to be very competitive, the staff were friendly and you could be assured of a great night out.

Our last visit in September was disappointing. The steak was grissly, portion sizes small, and the service was slow. Added to this, a bill which didn't leave us much change from fifty euros (for two) We left thinking that it will never get back to the good old days.

Shame to say that for the first time ever, our next Amsterdam visit probably won't include Alberto's

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    19
    19
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We came by accident and it was a hreat one. The hamburger at 7.5 euros was the best of my experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Totally worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Alberto's with my cousin with a sudden decision of eating steak while walking on its street. It was a romantic and authentic place with friendly staff and delicious food. We tried 3 typical dishes and house wine all of which had great taste and presentation. We also met the manager of the day, Manuel, who then showed us a great friendship and many more things in the city. I recommend the restaurant to everybody for food, atmosphere and its people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Love the steak - but service a bit fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Hunting for a good steak house is a challenge. We were tempted by Uruguayan and stepped in. Rib eye steak is one of the tastest I have had in a long time. House red wine was not good so order a better bottle from menu. Service was extremely fast which we were fine with, but perhaps staff are paid for turnover rather than eager for tips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Incredible food, good service, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a thursday evening. It's quite expensive but totally worth it. We both ordered Alberto's Trio (1 well done without pepper and 1 medium with pepper) as a side dish we both had a grilled corn, french fries and salad. My girlfriend has problems eating tough/stringy meat but she ate her entire 'well done' dish without a word. The steaks are amazingly tasty, the corn was incredible as well. You pay quite a lot for what you get but it is worth every penny! I definately recommend this restaurant for every steaklover that's out there. 1 tip though, be specific about the way how you order your food, otherwise you might get not what you expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Carreta also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alberto's Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberto's Carreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.