We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberto's Carreta

Alberto's Carreta
Spui 8, 1012 WZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-6268024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,346 of 2,245 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Latin, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We came by accident and it was a hreat one. The hamburger at 7.5 euros was the best of my experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    19
    18
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Totally worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Alberto's with my cousin with a sudden decision of eating steak while walking on its street. It was a romantic and authentic place with friendly staff and delicious food. We tried 3 typical dishes and house wine all of which had great taste and presentation. We also met the manager of the day, Manuel, who then showed us a great friendship and many more things in the city. I recommend the restaurant to everybody for food, atmosphere and its people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Love the steak - but service a bit fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Hunting for a good steak house is a challenge. We were tempted by Uruguayan and stepped in. Rib eye steak is one of the tastest I have had in a long time. House red wine was not good so order a better bottle from menu. Service was extremely fast which we were fine with, but perhaps staff are paid for turnover rather than eager for tips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Incredible food, good service, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a thursday evening. It's quite expensive but totally worth it. We both ordered Alberto's Trio (1 well done without pepper and 1 medium with pepper) as a side dish we both had a grilled corn, french fries and salad. My girlfriend has problems eating tough/stringy meat but she ate her entire 'well done' dish without a word. The steaks are amazingly tasty, the corn was incredible as well. You pay quite a lot for what you get but it is worth every penny! I definately recommend this restaurant for every steaklover that's out there. 1 tip though, be specific about the way how you order your food, otherwise you might get not what you expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good deal for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Came by not knowing what to expect on account of all of the seemingly lackluster Latin American steakhouses in the area, but we were pleasantly surprised by Alberto's. Good service, nice steaks and great bread for 12 Euros a piece made for a nice lunch. It wasn't the greatest meal we had, but it got the job done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Carreta also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alberto's Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberto's Carreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.