We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Zotte

De Zotte
Raamstraat 29, 1016 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
0206268694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Belgian, Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Enjoyed a meal here when away for the weekend in Amsterdam. All the food was lovely and they do really nice beers/ales and the staff are really friendly.
Read about it in the guardian and really glad we went but if you're going make sure you get there earliesh 7.30-8 as it gets quite busy and is a cosy place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    51
    28
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Belgium beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

They have nice set of Belgium beers. Especially I like fact that they have Kwak from tap, it is rare case in the Amsterdam. Food is rather tasty, spare ribs are awesome and lamb stew is ok. They don't have much place, so you definitely need to make a reservation for the evening visit.
Staff are rather friendly and cheerful.
Overall it is great place, I love it and I'll visit it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wish this was closer to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Lovely bar that was recommended to be by a local barman. Me and a friend visited twice in a 4 day holiday. Great beers, helpful and friendly staff and a wide selection. Nice atmosphere really adds to it. Some of the beers I discovered there I now actively hunt for at home. If I return to Amsterdam I'm certainly going there again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great range of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Great bar. Lots of beer choices and reasonably priced. Didn't eat there, but the food we saw looked delicious. Only negative was that the wine they served wasn't great, so swmbo wasn't as keen....

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Belgian Bar to be sought out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Crowded bar serving excellent beer and decent food. Get there early to grab a table - they start food just after 6. By 7 on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday the tables are full. Wide age range, good atmosphere, lots of locals, eclectic music in the background, low lighting, you'll always find someone to have a chat with if you're on your own.
Service is good, bar staff seem to change every few months, steak and chips are both excellent and of course an eye watering list of beers on draft or bottled.
Just far enough off Leidseplein to be off the hen and stag party groups radar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Zotte also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Zotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Zotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.