We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood restaurant I have been!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridges

Bridges
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cafe Roux) (Red Light District)
+31 20 555 3560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $120
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood restaurant I have been!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Food is surprising and delicious. Don't miss the raw scallops with foies gras....it's heaven! And the service is very caring and responsive. Amazing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Denis_Dupart, Manager at Bridges, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Thiago L,

I would like to thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.
It is our passion to provide all our guests with an unforgettable experience and therefore service is our top priority. I am pleased to learn that we have succeeded during your experience.

We hope to welcome you again in our restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Dafne van Benschop
F&B manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    190
    67
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were visiting Amsterdam for my birthday and a visit to this restaurant ensured it would be a memorable one. We relaxed in the bar whilst waiting for our table and seeing some of the dishes being served in the adjoining Bistro, we knew we would not be disappointed. We decided to go for the chefs tasting menu and were glad we did. Each course carefully selected and prepared to the finest detail by an undoubtedly talented chef. The tastes were wonderful. This place certainly deserves it's Michelin star.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Denis_Dupart, Manager at Bridges, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear BOBMAC69,

I would like to thank you for choosing Bridges and describing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that enjoyed your visit at our restaurant.
Our Executive Chef Joris Bijdendijk is very honored by the fact that Bridges has been awarded a Michelin star in 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bridges in the future and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Dafne van Benschop
F&B manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“excellent food but lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The food is very good and service matches but the restaurant was chilly with the guests on our next table actually leaving before service. It also lacks atmosphere which is a great shame

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remco G, Manager at Bridges, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Andy H,

Thank you for visiting Bridges. It is been a while, however we would like to thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the food. Regarding the atmosphere, in the summer we serve lunch and dinner on our garden terrace. The terrace is truly a hidden treasure in the city centre of Amsterdam.

We certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Maarten Berns
Food & Beverage Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for which this is the restaurant for, and decided to treat ourselves on our last night. Briefly the food was exceptional but let down by what we considered to be poor service. The menu is a little odd in that there is a 6 course tasting menu - perfectly normal - but if you don't go for that the rest of the dishes are all starter size so you are advised to pick 4 or 5 followed by a dessert. To expand on the poor service, our waitress came to us on two occasions to top up the olive oil pot only to realise she had already done it! Also after we had finished our wine she asked if we wanted to keep the bottle as a souvenir - weird, I know it's all about personalities but she was strange! And as the one of the previous reviews stated our table was not cleaned in between courses. Not bad but for the money I wouldn't go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Denis_Dupart, Manager at Bridges, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear GaryB66,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on our restaurant on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to learn that your dinner was not entirely to your satisfaction, primarily as a result of "poor service". Service excellence is the pillar on which we build upon, and our aim is to consistently provide this to all our guests so I am disappointed the service let us down this time. I assure you we take it along with the evaluation of our service.

On behalf of the whole team, I hope to be able to restore your confidence in Bridges and if you are planning a trip to Amsterdam in the future I very much hope you will consider dining with us again.

With kind regards,

Dafne van Benschop
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sfakia, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Grand and this place was very convenient. We didn't have to walk far to get a great meal. We just spend a few days in Amsterdam so we ate here both nights and each night was better than the next. The staff was very helpful with choosing our wine and our meals were very tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Denis_Dupart, Manager at Bridges, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Jake I,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your visit to Bridges, inspired by Ron Blaauw.
I am pleased to read that our team was right there for you. They ensure that each guest receive a warm welcome and will deliver refined service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bridges in the future and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Dafne van Benschop
F&B manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridges also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Bridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.