We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Pepper

Blue Pepper
Nassaukade 366, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)
020-489-7039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #325 of 2,249 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had 2 different 5 course menus (Winter 2013 and Lolita) and both were very delicious. The Winter menu for 49 EUR is OK, Lolita for 65 EUR definitely too expensive. Therefore the overall rating of 4.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    78
    35
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Completely satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sometimes it's best to go into a restaurant with no preconceived notions, just a recommendation from a trusted source. We were looking for an Indonesian restaurant in Amsterdam as we knew it was one of the city's best cuisines. Blue Pepper was truly a find, the service and wine knowledge/recommendations were fantastic and the food was delicious. Since I really knew nothing about the place, the decor and associated prices were slightly higher than I had expected, but it was well worth the price. They were very flexible with dietary requests and you could tell the sauces were made from scratch. I was very surprised at how complex the flavors were and the unique approach taken to the dishes, and loved their attention to detail in finding great wine pairings to match. All in all a great experience, but expect to pay a little bit more than average. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“The best place to eat in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had chicken soup and satay sticks-sounds easy but never have I had them cookes so well.
Simply delicious and fantastic friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No style and limited substance ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The good thing about secluded, non-pretentious restaurants is that they tend to focus on producing good quality food for a fair price. When you pay a large bill, for just alright food in an average venue, the whole eating experience is disappointing. That was my experience at Blue Pepper. The restaurant itself is nothing to brag about and for that reason, it was obvious to expect amazing food for a relatively low price. But given that there's only the option of getting five-course set menus (or compulsory two à la carte dishes) you end up paying a huge bill for good yet average food. For the bill we paid I would have preferred to enjoy a decent meal in a fancier place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel welcome from the very start. The restaurant was buzzing, but it didn't feel crowded, and the service was excellent throughout. We spent ages perusing the menu, but that was because there were so many interesting and unusual dishes - choosing was virtually impossible - but the waitress was patiently on hand to offer advice and make suggestions- even though my husband asked the Irish manager if he spoke English, and I inadvertently offended his wife by exclaiming 'at last', when she came to take our order - I was referring to my husband's pedantic progress in making his choice!!
We are not particularly familiar with Indonesian cuisine, but our choices were simply delicious: nothing over fussy or over spiced, but perfectly cooked, wonderfully fragrant and beautifully presented. The chef is a genius!
What a shame the restaurant is in Amsterdam and not London- we would be regulars!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pepper also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Blue Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Pepper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.