We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Visaandeschelde

Visaandeschelde
Scheldeplein 4, 1078 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-675-1583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our first experience dining at this lovely restaurant outside the center of Amsterdam was the amuse bouche - a crispy shrimp/seaweed cracker in the shape of a tiny bowl, holding a delicious bit of fish soup, topped with a bit of rouille. Bouillabaisse in a mouthful. Now, this is something special, I thought. The rest of the meal progressed in a very similar fashion. Tasty, inventive seafood preparations with lots of vegetables. Well selected wine list. Careful and cordial service. This was our best meal in Amsterdam. Although this place isn't cheap, it's definitely worth trekking out to Scheldeplein. Several tram lines (4 and 12) leave you within a block.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    52
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good experience, romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We choose Chefs 5 course menu (EUR 65,-) with wine selection (+EUR 35,-). Welcome was pleasant and service was great with explanations on food and wine. It started with seafood snack, surprise starter from the chef and then maceril tartar, flounder, aspargus with lamb and lobster and main course skin fried Mullet, and when we asked the waiter said it was a white fish from the north sea. Very good service and perfect athmosphere, good wine selection with the courses, starters were excellent but to our opinion the main course failed. It was NOT a fish from north sea but tropical / meditarian fish which we would not have ordered if we knew and it did not taste very good. But we had a very pleasant evening and will recommend this place. Good location next to Rai.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very lovely decor, friendly staff and amazing fresh fish and shellfish. Our oysters were divine as well as our main course. Our waiter was knowledgeable the wine choices and paired us wonderfully.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very creative menu with outstanding service. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Amsterdam

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely night by myself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Can't book a table on Friday night till 9:45pm, you can imagine how good is this restaurant! This restaurant is amazing. One of the best I've even visited! I ordered the chef's menu, that you can choose 3,4 or 5 courses. I chose the 4 courses menu. Food are incredible! When you look at it, u smile already, so beautiful! Of course, Service is amazing too! Every dish comes they will explain every details. A really good experience for me. Would love to visit again if I go to Amsterdam again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visaandeschelde also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Visaandeschelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visaandeschelde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.