We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, romantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Visaandeschelde

Visaandeschelde
Scheldeplein 4, 1078 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-675-1583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good experience, romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We choose Chefs 5 course menu (EUR 65,-) with wine selection (+EUR 35,-). Welcome was pleasant and service was great with explanations on food and wine. It started with seafood snack, surprise starter from the chef and then maceril tartar, flounder, aspargus with lamb and lobster and main course skin fried Mullet, and when we asked the waiter said it was a white fish from the north sea. Very good service and perfect athmosphere, good wine selection with the courses, starters were excellent but to our opinion the main course failed. It was NOT a fish from north sea but tropical / meditarian fish which we would not have ordered if we knew and it did not taste very good. But we had a very pleasant evening and will recommend this place. Good location next to Rai.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    52
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very lovely decor, friendly staff and amazing fresh fish and shellfish. Our oysters were divine as well as our main course. Our waiter was knowledgeable the wine choices and paired us wonderfully.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very creative menu with outstanding service. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Amsterdam

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely night by myself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Can't book a table on Friday night till 9:45pm, you can imagine how good is this restaurant! This restaurant is amazing. One of the best I've even visited! I ordered the chef's menu, that you can choose 3,4 or 5 courses. I chose the 4 courses menu. Food are incredible! When you look at it, u smile already, so beautiful! Of course, Service is amazing too! Every dish comes they will explain every details. A really good experience for me. Would love to visit again if I go to Amsterdam again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Special Occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had dinner here recently. The restaurant is some way out from the city centre (we took a taxi for 12 euros). Reservations are highly recommended (bookings open 3 months ahead of your dining date). Dress code is smart casual. The menu contained Chef's 5 course tasting menu, a selection of seasonal specialities and a selection of old favourites - all with a heavy emphasis on fish and seafood. You can mix and match from all three sections. We each selected a starter and a main from the seasonal and favourites sections, and also received a complementary amuse bouche and taster dish (both delicious). Our selected dishes were all perfectly prepared, cooked and presented, but we we both thought that some of the ingredient combinations used were somewhat odd, meaning that the dish did not hang together cohesively. Overall, however, the meal was very good. The only other complaint is that the tables are all quite close to each other, so conversation is easily overheard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visaandeschelde also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Visaandeschelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visaandeschelde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.