We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Visaandeschelde

Visaandeschelde
Scheldeplein 4, 1078 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-675-1583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

i visited this restaurant around 10 days ago. the place is nice, not too fancy but the service is really good. the staff are friendly and welcoming.we started with oysters. they have a variety to choose from like umani, royal cabanon. it was perfeclty fresh and served at the right temperature.good wine collection .my friend ordered the bouillabaisse and i, the lobster bisque, absolutely delicious.i dint expect that, expected a more fishy soup but it was just perfect, my bisque was also yummy with shrimps and lobsters in, creamy and just perfectly spiced. we then ordered sea bass, it was cooked perfectly and served with a little veggies on the side.for main , we ordered one oriental style lobster served with rice noodles and split it between us.it was enough for two. for dessert we ordered a creme brulee and must say it wasnt as great as i hoped for, but still quite good
the restaurant has a 3 to 5 menu course to choose from or you can choose seperately like we did (and not miss the oysters!) and choose 1 or 2 starters from the menu .would advice to make a reservation as the place is always full.the only negative i can point out is that the tables are placed too closely to each other.but we dint care so much as we were so engrossed in engaging our taste buds!
loved the restaurant and would definitely go back next time im in beautiful amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    54
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Great fish and oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times but my last visit was the best.The overall standard seemed higher.Fish was perfectly cooked.First courses were on the large side .Lobster salad was very good and perfect choice on the hot evening we were there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fish, fish and fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Restaurant which is easy to reach from the A10 in Amsterdam. There is valet service which is a must otherwise you can't park your car close by.
The restaurant has an excellent choice of fish, their specialty. The waiting staff is friendly and attentive. It was fully booked on a Sunday evening, amazing. Must be good.
The food was very good. Beautifull dishes with great food. The wines with the different courses were excellent. A very good experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The restaurant is off the beaten path but well worth the tram or taxi ride. The restaurant specializes in seafood. Everything was beautifully prepared and presented. We had the 3-course prix fixe menu. Most of courses were superb but one was a bit off the mark. Excellent wine list and good value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,022 reviews 1,022 reviews
745 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
552 helpful votes 552 helpful votes
“Fish heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our business partners have taken us here twice and the consistency is top drawer. Try a much shell fish as you can eat and order the fish of the day. Brown shrimps and Red Mullet rule. The staff are excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visaandeschelde also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Visaandeschelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visaandeschelde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.