We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiaas Restaurant VIjaya

Indiaas Restaurant VIjaya
Geldersekade 23, 1011EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
020 4205225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,536 of 2,584 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We walked past this restaurant on the way to the ladies in the pretty lights. We spent an hour trying to find it again and was well worth the effort! Complimentary poppadoms, delicious curry including the rice, good service and the offer of a doggy bag. Best tasting curry we've had in a long, long time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great overall experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We found this place while lost on a beautiful July afternoon in Amsterdam. It was an awesome experience: from the petals on the floor to the way the sweet girl handed me the menu. The Food was delicious and the place is so cute, clean and cozy! You can feel the people care about their customers, it makes everything so much better!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food + great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I found this place in a late evening as we were walking in Amsterdam back towards our hotel. It is located very close to the train station (maybe 10 min walk). This is one of the best indian and indonezian food restaurants I had (to mention I am Caucasian not Asian, traveling from Nord America and I eat Asian food frequently). I recommend the Twee Gangen choices where I liked having have small portion of different dishes. I also want to make a note for staff who was very professional, very helpful: a great overall service for a reasonable price. After we went back to the hotel I checked for others’ opinion on it and I found, to no surprise at all, that is one of the best recommendations on Indian food in Amsterdam: allow me to support that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and my husband visited this restaurant and to be honest It was a bit of a mixed bag of ok, good and bad. Pickle tray was basic although complimentary so let it slide. My husbad had a chicken curry and he said it was very good so thumbs up for that, I had a cheese curry which I always have in the uk and this was not good just a mush in sauce. The rice (they only do one rice which is included in the price of the curry) this was good but as I usually have egg pilau would have liked a choice as normally Indian restaurants do have a variety to choose from. But the Garlic naan was like nothing I have seen in an Indian before, bright yellow toxic yellow which im sure was food saffron or something but added nothing to the flavour and I don't think it had seen a garlic clove it was just a dry yellow round thing. Overall I personally would not go back and found it basic with paper place mats on a wood table with people in and out either their staff of customers picking up takeaway and as its long and narrow and we were sat near the door we kept getting a draft everytime door opened and along with only ok food for us its a no no. To be fair to the restaurant we never complained about the naan But I guess it depend on what your looking for. Overall an avarage meal but nothing special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time for Indonesian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The menu offers Indian and Indonesian options. We chose an Indonesian sampler platter that was excellent. I have never eaten Indonesian food before but will definitely try again! All the dishes were very well seasoned and not too hot. They put a dish of chili pepper sauce on the side if you wanted to add more heat to your food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiaas Restaurant VIjaya also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Indiaas Restaurant VIjaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiaas Restaurant VIjaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.