We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good We Ate There Twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Nes 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 620 3316
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 2,322 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So Good We Ate There Twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We really enjoyed this hidden gem. It has a quirky, warm vibe (love the candellight) and has only a few tables. Every day, lunch and dinner, the menu is verbally transmitted to you by the (very friendly and informative) waitstaff. There is a good variety of foods offered, presumably selected by the chef based on what was available fresh and tasty that day at the market. The menu at both the lunch and dinner we had satisfied a wide range of palates -- my husband's and mine (we are pescatarians) and our sons, ages 14 and 21. Also, no reservations are taken and it is always busy but there is a bar that you can wait at.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    176
    28
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

They don't accept reservations but go in and have a drink at the bar and you won't be disappointed. We had a delicious meal and the atmosphere was great with a large number of locals which is always an excellent indicator.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decide to have dinner in this places because was near of our hotel, just steps away, and we have a great surprise! The menu is short but everything sounds good, we start with calamari w/ garlic (was fantastic) after that we order a fish in coconout milk and beef with red fruits sauce delicious! The staff is so friendly and the menu is a good surprise, if u are in amsterdam you need eat here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited here as we were staying at a hotel nearby. This is a lovely bistro style restaurant, the speciality is a steak in a strawberry sauce, which although I didn't have, my husband thoroughly enjoyed. The staff are very friendly and the food was reasonable. The only thing I would have liked is a menu as the waiter tells you the menu so it doesn't give you much time to decide or what it costs. Don't let this put you off though as its a great place with excellent food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food, amazing service! A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The best restaurant we've visited on our Europe travels!! Beautiful food, amazing service! Waiting at the bar is no hassle and even though the lovely staff will tell you an hour or so it's never that long and the food, service and atmosphere is well worth the wait! This place can not be missed!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Kerkwijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;