We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Nes 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 620 3316
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decide to have dinner in this places because was near of our hotel, just steps away, and we have a great surprise! The menu is short but everything sounds good, we start with calamari w/ garlic (was fantastic) after that we order a fish in coconout milk and beef with red fruits sauce delicious! The staff is so friendly and the menu is a good surprise, if u are in amsterdam you need eat here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    396
    159
    26
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited here as we were staying at a hotel nearby. This is a lovely bistro style restaurant, the speciality is a steak in a strawberry sauce, which although I didn't have, my husband thoroughly enjoyed. The staff are very friendly and the food was reasonable. The only thing I would have liked is a menu as the waiter tells you the menu so it doesn't give you much time to decide or what it costs. Don't let this put you off though as its a great place with excellent food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food, amazing service! A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The best restaurant we've visited on our Europe travels!! Beautiful food, amazing service! Waiting at the bar is no hassle and even though the lovely staff will tell you an hour or so it's never that long and the food, service and atmosphere is well worth the wait! This place can not be missed!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice sandwich shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Having no menu was a little bit of a hindrance as the waitress had trouble remembering every item. The selection seemed to be soup or sandwiches. The club sandwich was nice but came with fries I was then charged for although not asked for. The goats cheese and chutney was also nice but came with nothing else. A little odd. The waitress seemed very busy as she kept forgetting things from our drinks orders.

Overall I feel a menu would help as you could choose at your own leisure instead of having to choose instantaneously. This may help the waitress who could concentrate on serving instead of explaining the menu to everyone. The food was very nice though.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Out of the restaurants we sampled during our week in Amsterdam this was the best. Although fairly basic and quite small with tables very close together it was by far our best dining experience. It is very close to Dam square and on the same street as the Rho hotel. There is no menu and the choices change daily and these are recited by the waiter at your table, ( a test of memory).. The food is excellent and service very friendly. Unfortunately it is not possible to book so arriving early for dinner is recommended otherwise you wait in the small bar area for a table. However you are not rushed which is just as well as the there can be a time lag between ordering and food arrival but well worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Kerkwijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.