We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Nes 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 620 3316
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Pulborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Out of the restaurants we sampled during our week in Amsterdam this was the best. Although fairly basic and quite small with tables very close together it was by far our best dining experience. It is very close to Dam square and on the same street as the Rho hotel. There is no menu and the choices change daily and these are recited by the waiter at your table, ( a test of memory).. The food is excellent and service very friendly. Unfortunately it is not possible to book so arriving early for dinner is recommended otherwise you wait in the small bar area for a table. However you are not rushed which is just as well as the there can be a time lag between ordering and food arrival but well worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    423
    170
    28
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly little bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great dining experience if you're looking to get the local vibe in Amsterdam. Lively, intimate and with great food, this restaurant doesn't have a menu. Instead your waiter is your menu! This doesn't limit the choices though for such a small restaurant. They don't take bookings so expect to wait at the bar while enjoying the local beer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No frill, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just went there for an early dinner to avoid the crowd. The restaurant is easy to find down Nes from the Dam Plaza and National Monument. Several beers on tap, selection of starters and main courses read off to you. Portions are quite big and I didn't get to try the desserts, pies standing on the side looked delicious! No pretenses, food is good and reasonably priced. I will go there any day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had lunch here on a recent trip to Amsterdam because we had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and didn't want to waste time looking for somewhere to eat.. This restaurant was easy to find and we were welcomed as soon as we went in. The friendly waitress went over the food available that day and was more than happy to describe each dish. She was equally helpful with the choice of beer. Lunch for two with beer/wine was less than 30 euros, the toilets downstairs at the back were clean and well serviced. The overall atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, the food and drink were excellent, I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No Menu, No Booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about eating here as my partner has a number of food allergies. I usually check menus carefully before booking and, unable to do so at Van Kerkwijk, was headed elsewhere. However the skies opened and we took our chance here. There were choices suitable for my partner for all courses and, as others have said, the food, drink and ambience are top notch. My only concern is not knowing when ordering how much each dish will cost. In our case, I was nor too worried but this may be a problem for others.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Kerkwijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.