We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frill, good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Nes 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 620 3316
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #21 of 2,141 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No frill, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just went there for an early dinner to avoid the crowd. The restaurant is easy to find down Nes from the Dam Plaza and National Monument. Several beers on tap, selection of starters and main courses read off to you. Portions are quite big and I didn't get to try the desserts, pies standing on the side looked delicious! No pretenses, food is good and reasonably priced. I will go there any day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    347
    132
    23
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had lunch here on a recent trip to Amsterdam because we had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and didn't want to waste time looking for somewhere to eat.. This restaurant was easy to find and we were welcomed as soon as we went in. The friendly waitress went over the food available that day and was more than happy to describe each dish. She was equally helpful with the choice of beer. Lunch for two with beer/wine was less than 30 euros, the toilets downstairs at the back were clean and well serviced. The overall atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, the food and drink were excellent, I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No Menu, No Booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about eating here as my partner has a number of food allergies. I usually check menus carefully before booking and, unable to do so at Van Kerkwijk, was headed elsewhere. However the skies opened and we took our chance here. There were choices suitable for my partner for all courses and, as others have said, the food, drink and ambience are top notch. My only concern is not knowing when ordering how much each dish will cost. In our case, I was nor too worried but this may be a problem for others.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramot Naftali, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“small and very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

the place has no menu and we had to wait for 45 min for a table but its a realy nice place for dinner , we didnt like the food so much but i only think because it is not our taste . the service is great and they are very warm and friendly staff

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, relaxed, friendly, great food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

After being treated by very friendly wait staff we waited 20 minutes for a table however enjoyed a drink at the bar. Once seated we were told the menu by the staff who did not miss a beat. They made sure everyone was happy and were always friendly and helpful. The food was very good and the price very reasonable. Would definitely go there again if it wasn't on the other side of the world.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Kerkwijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.