We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Nes 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 620 3316
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Lived at rho hotel, few blocks from this restaurant. You cant book a table in advance but take place in the bar if its fully booked when you arrive. The place is busy, but not in a stressful way. Lovely atmosphere. The food tasted delicious, wine lovely. 3 course and a bottle of wine for 70 dollars, so good price and really value for money. Would love to come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    218
    39
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service! I love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

you cannot find a physical menu! The waitress is a MENU. Wait a second when she ask you what you want to eat. Hot meal or Cold meal? Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Human menues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

When i asked for the menu, the waitress told me that she was the menu. It was an adorable presentation and wasnt as expensive as i thought it would be. I took a visitor there and we went back next day. It definitely worths your time

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“DDD - Delicious Dutch Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Found this place here on trip advisor and really enjoyed our dinner there. Food and composition were traditional dutch mixed with uncommonly but well fitting flavours/spices. Waiter was really nice as well. Only thing we have to complain about was their cat running around the restaurant... If you're allergic that really sucks and plus it is a restaurant there shouldn't be no animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Went there twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went there twice because the first time we visited (dinner time on the weekend), it was full and it was impossible to wait because there were a lot of people in the queue as well. They can't take reservation though. So the next afternoon around 3 pm we went there and had coffee, around 4 pm we ordered an early dinner. The waitress was attentive, the food was great, the ambiance was great. Nothing to complain. =)
They don't have menu, you just need to ask the waitress the menu. We ordered almost every meal and they were delicious, especially the "soup of the day"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Kerkwijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.