We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent good food out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Nes 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 620 3316
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent good food out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It is wasn't for the previous reviews we would never have thought of going here, but we were glad we did. Just out of the way down a small street, very nice inside and the food was fantastic. However no menu on show, the waitress tells you the menu.

Good value but a little bit on the dearer side for other places but well worth it. However it gets busy very quickly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    407
    165
    26
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a nice dutch culinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

one of the best places to have a dutch meal in Amsterdam. i've been going there since 2008. cuzy atmosphere. tables are limited and small. the places is always busy so expect to wait on the bar for a while.
food is awsome and prices are moderate.
what amazes me is how small the kitchen is!!!
a must visit resturant in Amsterdam

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We ate here two nights in a row, early in order to get a seat. On Saturday night, the restaurant was full by 6:30 but on Sunday night it was much emptier and the few patrons seemed local. We were even earlier on Sunday night and the dinner menu wasn't fully developed yet. The food on offer were variations of the previous night's meals. But both nights the food was delicious, the service was excellent, the atmosphere was fun. Loved it. The mussels cooked in garlic oil were the tastiest mussels I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Restaurant Near Dam Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

All the reviews were right on target. Small, bustling restaurant with friendly efficient staff. Since the menu changes daily, you could go several times during your stay and have unique, tasty foods each time. Just remember, it is small with first come first serve so avoid peak meal time. We arrived before 7pm (early Oct) and we're seated right away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good place to eat and rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Got here following the tripadvisor. Very close from dam square. Very good food with reasonable prices. If you wanna rest and eat dutch, that's the place you are looking for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Kerkwijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.