We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking with loads of flavours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pantry

The Pantry
21 Leidsekruisstraat, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020 620 0922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home cooking with loads of flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A bit tight on space as they used to the maximum the little space they have got, the menu it is of a decent size with a mix of German, Hungarian style cooking that may be it is the best for the freezing cold at this time of the year in Amsterdam. It felt like home cooking, loads of fresh and humble ingredients and full of flavour.
The staff was magnificent, happy to please and help and what it was more surprising the amount of languages the 2 waiters spoke, German, Russian, English, French, Spanish and of course Dutch and may be more but those were the varieties of customers that night. Wine selection was ok, nothing too expensive but also nothing too Fancy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    326
    42
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing food but good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Pretty good service in this wee Amsterdam restaurant. I was not a big fan of the food though - it was plain and heavy. That may be a symptom of Dutch cuisine on a whole, though. If simple fare with an occasional smile is what your after then this place would be suitable, but so would a pub which would be a lot cheaper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having dined here on a previous solo trip I came back so my husband could try the food. They had been closed for a small renovation so we were fortunate to get in on our final night. The restaurant is quite small so I would recommend booking if you want to dine at a peak time. Our server was very friendly, efficient and offered to explain any of the Dutch dishes if we didn't understand. A French speaking couple arrived not long after us and as they weren't entirely comfortable speaking English the server immediately switched to French. The food was delicious, authentic and well priced. The restaurant is cosy and charming with plates and a tea set as wall decorations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant by accident. It's surrounded by many touristy restaurants in the Leidseplein area. It's a small place, but very cozy. The food and service was exceptional. We also found the overall cost to be very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We ordered 2 entree, traditional dutch meals, dinner was okay, not my fav cuisine. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!! Me and my friend spent $10 euro drinking hot water!!!!!! Each tea bag is $2.5, but they charge you $1 for each refill (hot water only). The waiter didnt inform us about the refill charge, we were extremely shocked and devastated becuase we wasted $10 euro on hot water!!!!!!!! They should have told us first

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.