We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but very small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

The Dylan
Keizersgracht 384 (Dylan Hotel), 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
(0)20 530 2010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very good but very small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a great high wine so after such a positive experience we decided to go for dinner also the week after.
Food was great and the dished were very well presented, perfect location, however service could be better, given the prices,and portions are small. So the risk is that afer dinner and after paying a quite high bill, you are still hungry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dinner at The Dylan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

On a recent trip to Amstedam, my wife and I were taken to The Dylan Restaurant, where many years ago I had eaten when it was part of Blakes. We were treated to a wonderful display of culinary art. The food was excellent, the service attentive but not overly so and the wine very good, that too could have been excellent but the prices were very steep.

I would certainly go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Now Brasserie OCCO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went by Hotel Dylan / restaurant Vinkeles at lunchtime, not really knowing whether I could have lunch. They told me they recently opened the brasserie, and had a place for me. It was a great experience, luxurious in a friendly way, interesting people there. A place to take your partner to. The food was very good in a traditional way. Had soup with crabmeat, and fish, filling portions. With a beer for starters and a glass of wine 48 Euros.
Tried to do the review for Tripadvisor, but it doesn't have OCCO on the list yet... So I put it under this space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very good indeed - pricey and posh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We knew we were in for a lovely evening where were seated in the lounge and were served delicious canapes with our drinks. As befits a Michelin starred restaurant, the menu and dishes were very well presented and the food excellent (if a bit small on the portion front). Game and fish were superb. Attentive service without being fawning.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good, very little”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Very nice aosphere, good food. Minimal portions. Good place to go if you are not hungry in the first place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dylan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.