We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Take Thai

Take Thai
Utrechtsestraat 87, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020-622 0577
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Slave Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellant restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

excellant food and service and 1/2 block from our bed and breakfast sleep with me. Very tiny so will need reservations. The manager gave very personal service . Many locals so not touristy . Food was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    30
    30
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

In Amsterdam for a few days, always seek out a Thai place to eat. This one was in the guide book, turned up and was amazed. I reckon you can judge any Thai by the standard of their Thai Beef Salad - enough to say Take Thai's was lovely. Fresh and light with the just the spicy hit that you want/need from this dish. We used a spoon to get every last drop of the dressing. Our main of Lamb (we both had the same) was gorgeous. The girls who looked after us, were friendly, helpful and discreet all at the same time. If you find yourself in Amsterdam and want an amazing Thai meal go to Take Thai, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Bright clean with delicious food. Food was light and healthy. Typical Thai dishes that were hot and delicious. Service was good and place was consistently busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Really Good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food here is really well-prepared and fresh - the beef salad was particularly good, and I'd say our meal would stand up favorably to any of the best Thai meals I've had at home in San Francisco. Service was friendly and attentive. A little on the expensive side, but recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Consistently one of our favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We love this restaurant. It's around the corner from where we live, and the staff always remembers us when we arrive. With the number of food allergies in the family, we thought they'd balk at serving us - but they don't. In fact, they are quite possibly the most accommodating kitchen we've ever had the pleasure of visiting.

The food is delicious here. I love Thai food and try to find a good place in every city I visit, and this one ranks. Just spicy enough without ruining your taste buds. Just sizable enough to share without making you feel too full. And the service is attentive without being overbearing. On the one night when service seemed particularly slow, the manager explained that they were short-staffed by 2 servers and was overly apologetic. Fortunately we weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter.

Always a lovely experience here. Definitely try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Take Thai also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Take Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Take Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.