We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, friendly staff, lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Thai Restaurant

Bird Thai Restaurant
72 - 74 Zeedijk, 1012 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020 6201442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff, lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Taken here by a colleague, and realise I have eaten in their snackbar before.

Nice food, a decent Tom Ka Gai, quite sweet but flavoursome. Also they do North Eastern Thai food, which I really like. I had Laab and sticky rice, which was very good.

We sat upstairs and it has a nice atmosphere, plus the staff were very friendly and helpful. Not too pricey, overall a pleasant thai meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    260
    229
    74
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amsterdam wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were told that it would be no wait and ok for 7.00 pm no problem
But it was a problem
Crazy idiot system of waiting
Not good for tables of +6
We only needed 2 and it was an hour wait in an entranceway
Plan accordingly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic recomendation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

First night in Amsterdam and I could ask for a better place to start my adventure: Bird! I friend of mine told me that it could take a while to get a seat because its always crowded but the time we awaited was worthed. Great meal, fantastic food. A must when in A'dam!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bird ALWAYS BUZY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is in my opinion one of the best Thai restaurants in whole of Amsterdam .. Food is great! It really is only make shure you make reservations a couple of days before because There Will be no way youll get a spot when you didnt,food is great and the owner is always there, thats something that gives me a good feeling, the prices are OKE! You Will Pay around 15/20 euro's for a dish but it is worth it it really is if you'd like quality.. This is the Thai thing for you! I really enjoyed it and. Im coming back for shure !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. There was a small queue when we arrived but it moved quickly ? We soon could see why it was so popular. The food is Cheap, fast and fantastic. I had the chicken with cashew nuts which was delicious. My husband had a chilli and basil red curry which was amazing.

Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.