We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, friendly staff, lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Thai Restaurant

Bird Thai Restaurant
72 - 74 Zeedijk, 1012 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
020 6201442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #406 of 2,584 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff, lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Taken here by a colleague, and realise I have eaten in their snackbar before.

Nice food, a decent Tom Ka Gai, quite sweet but flavoursome. Also they do North Eastern Thai food, which I really like. I had Laab and sticky rice, which was very good.

We sat upstairs and it has a nice atmosphere, plus the staff were very friendly and helpful. Not too pricey, overall a pleasant thai meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    332
    98
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amsterdam wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were told that it would be no wait and ok for 7.00 pm no problem
But it was a problem
Crazy idiot system of waiting
Not good for tables of +6
We only needed 2 and it was an hour wait in an entranceway
Plan accordingly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic recomendation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

First night in Amsterdam and I could ask for a better place to start my adventure: Bird! I friend of mine told me that it could take a while to get a seat because its always crowded but the time we awaited was worthed. Great meal, fantastic food. A must when in A'dam!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bird ALWAYS BUZY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is in my opinion one of the best Thai restaurants in whole of Amsterdam .. Food is great! It really is only make shure you make reservations a couple of days before because There Will be no way youll get a spot when you didnt,food is great and the owner is always there, thats something that gives me a good feeling, the prices are OKE! You Will Pay around 15/20 euro's for a dish but it is worth it it really is if you'd like quality.. This is the Thai thing for you! I really enjoyed it and. Im coming back for shure !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. There was a small queue when we arrived but it moved quickly ? We soon could see why it was so popular. The food is Cheap, fast and fantastic. I had the chicken with cashew nuts which was delicious. My husband had a chilli and basil red curry which was amazing.

Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.