We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai flavours in old Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Thai Restaurant

Bird Thai Restaurant
72 - 74 Zeedijk, 1012 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6201442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai flavours in old Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having lived in Thailand for several years I am frequently disappointed in European Thai restaurants. Not so here. We had to queue for 30 minutes for a table, but were promptly served and had a very enjoyable meal. It is difficult to get green papaya here, so the classic somtam is not usually on offer, but they did a very good version here using green mango instead. The green curry had great flavour and intensity, the beef salad a dlightful zesty tang, and the huge dish of fragrant rice was indeed fragrant. The price was less than 100 Euro for three hungry men, with drinks. Not bad at all.
Yep, a good experience, and I would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    290
    86
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good thai. Safe bet in Amsterdam. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Good food and friendly staff. For some reason usually lots of room. Good for me since then i can always find a table.
Reasonable prices as well in a nice neigbourhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Regina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fast paced....great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate at the smaller restaurant....you are elbow to elbow in this place. Food was great and well worth the price as this is in a high tourist area. We ate here twice on our visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best thai in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

i 've been often to this restaurant or i would say the place right across from it which is thaise snackbar Bird, supreme curry's, soups are delicious, affordable. To me the best thai in town. i recommend it 100%

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner on holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Me, my sister and friends visited this restaurant for dinner one evening when on holiday in Amsterdam. Our hotel recommended this restaurant to us and we were not disappointed!

There was a good choice for vegetarians. We had the spring rolls and tofu with peanut sauce for starters, they were delicious. For the main course we had Thai green curry with tofu and vegetables and Thai red curry with tofu and vegetables which both came with rice. My friends had prawn dishes with noodles for there main courses.

The food was amazing, the portions are huge and we could not finish the food. The rice on its own for 2 of us came in a huge pot! I recommend sharing dishes between you as the portions are very generous.

The staff are very efficient. The food was very prompt even though the restaurant was very busy and people were walking in one after the other for a table. I don't think you can book a table, you might have to wait a few mins not much longer. The prices are ok, 12.50 euros for a Thai green curry with tofu and vegetables and rice. A prawn dish is around 16 euros.

If you fancy Thai food whilst in Amsterdam, give it a try. You will enjoy it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.