We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will eat there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Thai Restaurant

Bird Thai Restaurant
72 - 74 Zeedijk, 1012 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6201442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Will eat there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great Thai restaurant i the center of Amsterdam. tasty food, huge portions (we couldn't finish all). It's good to come tight after opening hours, later waiting in a line is necessary. Very busy inside, but definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    289
    86
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spicy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Everytime we passed in front of the restaurant it was full so we thought that it must be good, and we were right. The menu looked expensive but Portions were large (two people could eat from one dish) so it was good value.If you don't like spicy, then it's not your type of food.I recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Line was out the door! Come early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found this place while wandering Amsterdam. The line was out the door into the street! So, we felt it must be a good place. We returned the next night at an earlier time and had only a relatively short wait for a table. The place is full of real orchids and every table was decorated with authentic orchid blossoms.

The menu is extensive. We had some appetizers (chicken kabobs and coconut soup) which were delectable. The Thai beer ("Chang" brand) was surprisingly good. Our entrees were Pad Thai some kind of spicy curry chicken. Both were very good. The portions were extremely generous including the huge bowl of white rice that came with the curry chicken and we had no room for dessert at all.

The service was quite good and the atmosphere was lively and festive. A good value and nice decor too. I would definitely recommend Bird Thai if you are seeking an Asian style dinner. Just don't go late or you WILL wait!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine Thai cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Our group of four had a good experience here. The food was tasty and the service was adequate. it was a reasonable value,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong and well worth the wait..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We fancied some Asian food on our first night in Amsterdam and poked our head in here. A huge restaurant, absoutely jam packed and buzzing, with a queue of two other couples waiting for a table by the reception area. As it's such a big place, we figured it wouldn't be long before a table became available and we were right.
They have lots of staff who are all very prompt and efficient. I think this place is run like a well oiled machine (it probably needs to be as it's so busy) which allows for a really quick meal if you don't want to hang around to much. The food was really tasty, plenty of it accompanied by an enormous bowl of sticky rice which i believe you can have as much as you like of.
Decent value for money too I reckon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Thai Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bird Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.