We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful "local" Dutch experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sluizer Restaurants

Sluizer Restaurants
Utrechtsestraat 41 _ 45, 1017 VH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 622 6376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 2,533 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: The Specialties Restaurant (Restaurant Sluizer) has the atmosphere of a typical, dark-brown wood-panelled, Amsterdam restaurant (with many works of contemporary Dutch artists)Parties are very welcome in the pleasant ambiance of our well frequented restaurants; additionally, there are separate rooms and a bar available for parties up to 150.The extensive dinnermenu and changing choicemenus, with international meat- and fish-dishes, is completed with seasonal dishes. Certain traditional dishes, however, are never taken off the menu. A vegetarian dish is always to be found on the menu. All the fish is supplied daily.The kitchen is open all week from 17.00 hrs. until 23.00 hrs. Lunch on request.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful "local" Dutch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our first night in Amsterdam and the Sluizer was recommended to us by our hotel as a "local" experience. The staff was friendly and attentive - and we really enjoyed our meal. The restaurant was very attractively decorated. Would definitely recommend. Dinners were in the 18-25 Euro range.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    97
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This restaurant was very close to our hotel and one that they recommend so we tried it on our first evening. We were very pleased with our choice. Good menu choice, good service and decor.
We both had the smoked fish with a side order of white asparagus - delicious! Desserts were also very good, the trio of creme brûlée and the apple tart.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Recommended by our hotel Banks Mansion. It was a pleasant short stroll, perfect as I had my 83 year old mum with me. We found the service to be excellent. Very friendly, helpful, multi-lingual staff. I had the Belgian cabbage pie, which sounded unlikely, but was delicious. Mum had a beautifully cooked, and presented piece of cod. It's not cheap, but it's worth it. We had a glass of wine each, one red, one White, and both were superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended by our hotel, the Banks Mansions, and we enjoyed a 10 minute stroll to reach it. We were warmly welcomed and assisted with our coats.
The menu had good options catering for all requirements and our waitress gave us sound advice on portion size, etc. The food when it came was very tasty and beautifully presented. White asparagus was in season and they had a series of specials all including white asparagus which was an added bonus.
Though I had ordered my food with a sauce on the side, it was served by another staff member, as per the menu. As the meal was not smothered in the sauce, I accepted the dish with no comment. As soon as the waitress who had taken the order realised the error, she came running to the table to see if I wanted the kitchen to remake the dish for me and was most apologetic.
We would happily recommend this restaurant to a visitor to Amsterdam.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

To sum it all up; unfriendly personnel, they do not care about customer service or their reputation (probably because they think they shouldn't have to try that hard, or because they do not care about non-Dutch customers... I'm not sure which, but we were extremely surprised by the non-existing service and poor attitude from the personnel).

We went to Sluizer in the afternoon to book a table for dinner the same night. We made sure to reserve a table close to the windows so we wouldn't have to sit in the service entrance. When we arrived, the table we had reserved was already occupied. They claimed that "the new guy" had given away our table, making excuses and not offering any apologies or to try to fix the situation. It was 20.00 on a Saturday evening... We were forced to leave the restaurant, without any food or even any thought from the Sluizer personnel... As busy as Amsterdam is on weekends, we didn't get dinner until 22.00, and then of course at another place.

We will never go to Sluizer again and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone that cares about customer service or having a good evening out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluizer Restaurants also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sluizer Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sluizer Restaurants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.