We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sluizer

Sluizer
Utrechtsestraat 43-45, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 622 6376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Specialties Restaurant (Restaurant Sluizer) has the atmosphere of a typical, dark-brown wood-panelled, Amsterdam restaurant (with many works of contemporary Dutch artists)Parties are very welcome in the pleasant ambiance of our well frequented restaurants; additionally, there are separate rooms and a bar available for parties up to 150.The extensive dinnermenu and changing choicemenus, with international meat- and fish-dishes, is completed with seasonal dishes. Certain traditional dishes, however, are never taken off the menu. A vegetarian dish is always to be found on the menu. All the fish is supplied daily.The kitchen is open all week from 17.00 hrs. until 23.00 hrs. Lunch on request.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This restaurant was very close to our hotel and one that they recommend so we tried it on our first evening. We were very pleased with our choice. Good menu choice, good service and decor.
We both had the smoked fish with a side order of white asparagus - delicious! Desserts were also very good, the trio of creme brûlée and the apple tart.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    73
    59
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Recommended by our hotel Banks Mansion. It was a pleasant short stroll, perfect as I had my 83 year old mum with me. We found the service to be excellent. Very friendly, helpful, multi-lingual staff. I had the Belgian cabbage pie, which sounded unlikely, but was delicious. Mum had a beautifully cooked, and presented piece of cod. It's not cheap, but it's worth it. We had a glass of wine each, one red, one White, and both were superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended by our hotel, the Banks Mansions, and we enjoyed a 10 minute stroll to reach it. We were warmly welcomed and assisted with our coats.
The menu had good options catering for all requirements and our waitress gave us sound advice on portion size, etc. The food when it came was very tasty and beautifully presented. White asparagus was in season and they had a series of specials all including white asparagus which was an added bonus.
Though I had ordered my food with a sauce on the side, it was served by another staff member, as per the menu. As the meal was not smothered in the sauce, I accepted the dish with no comment. As soon as the waitress who had taken the order realised the error, she came running to the table to see if I wanted the kitchen to remake the dish for me and was most apologetic.
We would happily recommend this restaurant to a visitor to Amsterdam.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

To sum it all up; unfriendly personnel, they do not care about customer service or their reputation (probably because they think they shouldn't have to try that hard, or because they do not care about non-Dutch customers... I'm not sure which, but we were extremely surprised by the non-existing service and poor attitude from the personnel).

We went to Sluizer in the afternoon to book a table for dinner the same night. We made sure to reserve a table close to the windows so we wouldn't have to sit in the service entrance. When we arrived, the table we had reserved was already occupied. They claimed that "the new guy" had given away our table, making excuses and not offering any apologies or to try to fix the situation. It was 20.00 on a Saturday evening... We were forced to leave the restaurant, without any food or even any thought from the Sluizer personnel... As busy as Amsterdam is on weekends, we didn't get dinner until 22.00, and then of course at another place.

We will never go to Sluizer again and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone that cares about customer service or having a good evening out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food; average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just off Rembrantplein we selected Sluizer from a good choice of restaurants along the same street. The food was very good, especially the spare ribs. The service was a bit hit and miss as you could be forgotten about in all the restaurants nooks and crannies.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluizer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sluizer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sluizer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.