We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 in Amsterdam In My View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sluizer

Sluizer
Utrechtsestraat 43-45, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 622 6376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #382 of 2,615 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Specialties Restaurant (Restaurant Sluizer) has the atmosphere of a typical, dark-brown wood-panelled, Amsterdam restaurant (with many works of contemporary Dutch artists)Parties are very welcome in the pleasant ambiance of our well frequented restaurants; additionally, there are separate rooms and a bar available for parties up to 150.The extensive dinnermenu and changing choicemenus, with international meat- and fish-dishes, is completed with seasonal dishes. Certain traditional dishes, however, are never taken off the menu. A vegetarian dish is always to be found on the menu. All the fish is supplied daily.The kitchen is open all week from 17.00 hrs. until 23.00 hrs. Lunch on request.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“No 1 in Amsterdam In My View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Been here several times now and never been disappointed. Everything about this place is just so. Top quality ingrediants, beautifully, yet simply prepared and with a real punch of flavour. Service is attentive without being intrusive; polite without being formal and extemely knowleedgable (our young waiter waxed lyrical regarding the creme de casis options and was able to discuss any item in real detail). Excellent menu and fine wine selection (the Gruner Veltliner RESERVE, whilst expensive - Euro 45, is outstanding. Fish in particular is prepared wonderfully. all in all hard ot fault - it's just 100% spot on! It's not cheap; but it's worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and tell the whole world... You have experienced us as we like to be experienced. We hope to enjoy your company in the near future Kind regards Marco Dijkhuis owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    83
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Still alive after 35 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Relaxed, enough space, pleasant service in a nice area in Amsterdam. We had a nice evening, but we were not impressed by the taste and quality of our food. The sauce with the fish was to thin/watery, meat not that special and all in all € 50 pp including tip and the house wine a little on the high site. The kitchen should spent a little more time and buy a little better meat and fish should increase the number of visitors.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was surprised by your comments and I hope your feedback was also done to my staff on the night itself. We buy our meat, greens and fish fresh on a daily basis so in case we can be of service to you again please mention the review and my name (Marco) and we'll make extra sure everything will be as all our other guests experience us.
kind regards Marco Dijkhuis owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very Relaxed ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Chosen by our local hosts as a good place to meet and discuss business, whilst eating well. A very informal setting, with attentive and friendly service, I thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

The food choice was limited to a number of starters and mains under headings of veggie, meat, fish etc. I had some very tasty seared scallops and then a different take on beef Stroganoff - oh, and an Amaretto creme brulee. All excellent and not bad value.

I would definitely return for an evening meal or meeting, except perhaps for a proper romantic session, as it is quite open and bright!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this positive review. We're glad you've enjoyed it, we love to see you back to share another wonderful night. kind regards Marco Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect place for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were in Amsterdam for a convention and one night we needed a conveniently located restaurant and with good food. We ended up at Sluizer and it was a great choice. We had to conduct business over dinner and this restaurant was quiet, charming, with great service and great food.
Excellent choice and will go back next time I am in Amsterdam.
The servers were a pleasure to deal with and very attentive!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank for enjoying our restaurant, we hope you'll mention it to all your friends and collegues! Hope to see you again next time you're back in Amsterdam.

Kind regards Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I Am sterdam experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent and genuine dutch food! Moderate bill and cozy restaurant patroned mainly by locals...the spare ribs are not to be missed

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, you give us the pride and joy in our work. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sluizer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sluizer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sluizer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.