We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese food in Amsterdam, period” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sichuan Food

Sichuan Food
Reguliersdwarsstraat 35, 1017 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020-626-9327
Improve this listing
Ranked #494 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Amsterdam, period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the only restaurant that I repeatedly visit after having lived in Amsterdam for two years. We have tried most things on the menu and have never been disappointed. It's also great value for money. The standout dish there is the peking duck, which even my "discerning" parents from Hong Kong are very complimentary of. Décor is not its strong point but go for the excellent food and service. Being of Chinese descent, this is my little haven for good Chinese food given the limited options available in continental Europe.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant - a bit different from your average Chinese restaurant. Sichuan food is slightly more spicy but really tasty - we had a set menu for 30 euros each and really enjoyed it. The owner was helpful in discussing how spicy we wanted the food to be. My only problem was that I has salmon which was not cooked in the middle - they replaced it without question but did make the comment that I should have asked for it 'well done' - well this was raw in the middle so I'm afraid they lost a star for that comment - however all in all the food was delightful and I would certainly go back again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Meeting some friends so chose the banquet. Excellent food with attentive service. Each course served separately so food hot and fresh. Very good prawns.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recommanded by the staff at the nearby Ambassade Hotel, we found this quiet, clean establishment to be quite satisfying if you have a well padded wallet. The tasty hot and sour soup costs 7 Euros. In Toronto's Chinatown, we could have had a huge bowl for the same price. Nice red house wine was 35 Euros ans so on and so forth. The chicken and beef dishes were tender but lacking punch. Service was efficient but on the cool side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Sichuan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went for dinner and really like the hot and sour soup. The boss was also able to recommend a local dish which turned out to be very delicious and well prepared.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sichuan Food also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sichuan Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sichuan Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.