We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty Chinese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sichuan Food

Sichuan Food
Reguliersdwarsstraat 35, 1017 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020-626-9327
Improve this listing
Ranked #559 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Guildford
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant - a bit different from your average Chinese restaurant. Sichuan food is slightly more spicy but really tasty - we had a set menu for 30 euros each and really enjoyed it. The owner was helpful in discussing how spicy we wanted the food to be. My only problem was that I has salmon which was not cooked in the middle - they replaced it without question but did make the comment that I should have asked for it 'well done' - well this was raw in the middle so I'm afraid they lost a star for that comment - however all in all the food was delightful and I would certainly go back again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Meeting some friends so chose the banquet. Excellent food with attentive service. Each course served separately so food hot and fresh. Very good prawns.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recommanded by the staff at the nearby Ambassade Hotel, we found this quiet, clean establishment to be quite satisfying if you have a well padded wallet. The tasty hot and sour soup costs 7 Euros. In Toronto's Chinatown, we could have had a huge bowl for the same price. Nice red house wine was 35 Euros ans so on and so forth. The chicken and beef dishes were tender but lacking punch. Service was efficient but on the cool side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Sichuan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went for dinner and really like the hot and sour soup. The boss was also able to recommend a local dish which turned out to be very delicious and well prepared.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Sichuan Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were introduced to this restaurant by our daughter-in-law, who is on a temporary work assignment in Amsterdam from her home in Shanghai. The restaurant really lived up to the recommendation she had received from a work colleague.

We were greeted by a very welcoming hostess, who advised a table outside on the pavement, which was not only cooler, but provided a great view of the passing 'street show'......The restaurant has a great wine list, and, after initial scepticism, agreed to our request to make several of the dishes 'ultra hot/spicy.'

In the event, we were given an outstanding series of steamed dumplings and two pancakes with crispy duck as starters, before launching into the two stir-fry dishes of chicken and prawns, which were suitably 'fiery'......

The excellent service at Sichuan Food is attentive, without being intrusive, and the three of us felt we had been looked-after brilliantly. We can recommend the restaurant with total confidence that lovers of Sichuan dishes will be well pleased with their choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sichuan Food also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sichuan Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sichuan Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.