We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal-service was moderate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,314 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable meal-service was moderate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice restaurant, nice ambiance, good food, and it wasn't noisy. My only complaint was that when we wanted to split a dish they made a big deal about the E10 surcharge; and then when we wanted additional fruit (it was a warm night and we weren't that hungry) the server (who seemed to be about 15 years old) said no that couldn't be done. I said really? Then he went and asked and said we would be charged for it.....(did he think I was asking for free food?). So those two things could have been handled a little differently. I think our service went downhill when they saw we only ordered 3 salads and 1 entree. As I said, it was a very warm evening and it wasn't cool inside, so you don't want a heavy meal in weather like that.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear SZKlein,

Thanks for talking a moment to write a review here on TripAdivsor, though I am not sure you are actually a traveler in Amsterdam or living here...

We were not in town last week so we are not sure of all the details that you mention. We did see that someone was upset in our guest survey we conduct at the end of the meal, but did not have a email to contact you directly, to find out more details. As we always know there are two sides to the story.

We do charge for "shared plates" in our restaurant as indicated on the menu. Not sure if the big deal was with you or with the staff but that is our policy. As for fresh fruit, this is not always available in the restaurant and while perhaps the waiter (who is 19 and working for over 3 years with us) could have handled in better in your eyes, I understand why he asked the kitchen.

We at Seasons understand the need not to eat a 2/3 course menu during the summer months, and perhaps that is why we are probably the only restaurant who also offers a MIXED starter menu during the summer.

Again not sure what happened, perhaps it was the heat, but wanted to share with other travelers our side of the story.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    219
    53
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and was ranked quite high. After reading the reviews we decided to try it out and were not disappointed. This restaurant is located on a nice quiet street away from crowds. My wife and daughter both ordered Fresh Scallops..3 ways as an appetizer and they loved them! I had the Chicken Tikka Masala and my wife had the Grilled Steak Salad. Both were done very well. We also had the Crème Brulee for dessert and my daughter could have had two of them! Here's a tip...go to their website and check out their early bird special where you get two 2 course meals for the price of one (28 euros). The service was as good as the food. We would definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Joe W,

Thanks for taking a moment to post a review here for other travelers to read. Sounds like you and your family really had a good time. Enjoyed many of our popular summer dishes.

Thanks also for mentioning our Early Bird Special....it is a good deal, but then again our prices are pretty inline with other prices in Amsterdam. We feel even at reular prices we offer a good value for money experience.

Thanks again and we hope to see and/or your friends in the future.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Tasty with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Considering the size this is a great little restaurant. Staff were lovely and the food very good. It was busy and we were all tucked in close but not too noisy.
Highlight for me was the 'scallops three ways'. Yummy. We had nicely cooked salmon and steak. Not overcooked.
A safe bet for an evening meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear WyseOwls,

Thanks for your kind review here on Trip Advisor for other guests to see.

Great to hear about good food, but even better to hear about Great Service. If we could just have more of that in Amsterdam.

It is a bit cramped but we try to give as much room as possible when possible.

We hope you make it back to see us again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Restaurant For All Seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Tonight was our first visit to Seasons and it certainly will not be our last ! Having just recently moved to Amsterdam we are trying out lots of local restaurants and Seasons is certainly up there with the best so far ! The atmosphere is excellent, the staff attentive but not pushy and the menu is first class. Are there any criticisms ? -well the tables are a little close together so it can feel a bit crowded . My starter ( scallops ) was excellent as was my dessert ( strawberries with white chocolate ice cream) . For my main I had the boiled shrimp - I liked it but, for my taste it was a touch bland , needed a little extra something to give it more bite - but that's just my own taste . It was a Monday night and crowded so that tells you it's got to be good! We would heartily recommend Seasons to anyone looking for a really good dinner , additionally the price ( it's a set menu for either two or three courses) is amazing value for money . Looking forward to our next visit !!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Kevin P,

Thanks for your note here on Trip Advisor for other travelers to read. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it and better yet to hear that you might become one of our Locals.

You really summed up what we are about. Good food, good service at a good price. Yes we are a bit cramped and as you mentioned we could even use more tables if we had the space available.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Again thanks for the kind words!

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This restaurant came recommended by the B&B in which we were staying. We reserved a table for 5.30 and were told that we would get two meals for the price of one!! The starters, Grilled Figs with Goat's Cheese, and Oak smoked Chicken and Mango were sublime! The mains, Sticky Jerk Salmon, and Grilled Steak Salad were equally good. My only regret is that we were too full to order dessert, as the dessert menu looked great too! Lovely service and a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Evenstar61,

Thanks for taking a moment to write a review here for other travelers to read.

Makes us feel great to hear that we are recommended and live up to the expectations on others. You had some of our favorite summer time starters and glad to hear that you enjoyed them. Sorry about the dessert, but they will be there next time.

Hope to see you again on a future visit.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.