We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our second trip to Amsterdam and since we enjoyed our first meal at Seasons we decided to come back- but this time with our son. The food was even better than i remembered - the Manager also remembered us and chatted with us a bit. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough! Will be going back there on every trip we take to Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Possiblebliss,

Thanks for your kind review and glad to know that we did good enough the first time to bring you back with your son.

We look forward to seeing you on future trips.

Again thanks and all the best.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    547
    214
    50
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muttenz, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tiny and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We found this tiny Restaurant and got the last available table. They greeted us as friends and were all really friendly. The guy speaks also German! :) the food was delicious and specially the daily soup. A really fun and nice dinner location. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Weisserwolf,

Great to see your up-beat review hereon TripAdvisor. Glad that you had a good time and can recommend us to other travelers.

We like to think of all of our guests as friends or family and most of our staff will go out of there way to do what they can to make your evening or stay in Amsterdam as comfortable as possible. With the many nationalities that we hire we are able to serve in a few languages other than Dutch and English.

We will pass on your comments to the staff.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I made an early bird reservation on-line for the 2 course meal. The staff were exceptional, explaining the options. We were asked to both choose either a starter & entree or entree and desert. We chose the starter & entrée. I had the white asparagus with ibirico ham and telaggio cheese. It was well-presented and extremely tasty. My wife had the spring pea & fava bean & asparagus salad served on avocado and mixed lettuce. It was to die for. The portions were large, and my wife said that she could have stopped with the starter. However, she continued on and had the fiery shrimp on noodles. We like spicy food and they was just properly prepared, with shrimp being done perfectly tender. I had the surf and turf with fire cracker shrimp. The beef was done perfectly medium rare as ordered and was melt in your mouth.

We didn't have dessert, but what we saw going by looked wonderful. The early bird special before 7 pm with online reservation made the 2 course dinner an exceptional value of well presented, and casually timed quality dining in Amsterdam. We were staying close to Central Station and it was a short walk.

While it was busy, all the staff were very attentive. The windows were very bright and the tulips in tall vases made this a very pleasant and welcoming environment.

Walk, don't run to this restaurant, by making a reservation in advance, on-line. You won't be disappointed! You'll enjoy a wonderful relaxing dinner in a welcoming community of regulars and tourists!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mikey930,

Thanks for taking a moment to post a review here on TripAdvisor for other guests to read.

YOu described the food very well and just like we make them. The Pea Salad has been very popular this spring with a unique combination including avocado and Parmesan cheese ( I would like to put bacon in it, but try to keep it vegetarian?).

I do have to correct you about our Early Bird Special Times. IT only goes to 18:00 and we only take reservations until 17:45.

Yes reservations are a very good idea at this time of the year. You summed it up well with.. "You'll enjoy a relaxing dinner in a welcoming community of regulars and tourists!"

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Superb friendly service, relaxed atmosphere, delicious food... What more could one want??? A must for anyone visiting this lovely city.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Briercliffe,

Thanks for the short and kind review for other TripAdvisor travelers.

As you said .."What more could one want?"

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We celebrated King's Day Eve at Seasons and due to the great weather, we ate outside. With such great options, my husband and I both did the three course meals - where you get an appetizer, entree and dessert for a set price. I started with the goat cheese / asparagus / onion tart and it was great. I had never had asparagus before and I was surprised that I liked it so much. My husband had the fire shrimp and thought it was equally as good.

For our entrees, we had the chicken tikka masala and spicy garlic shrimp with noodles. Again - both dishes were so good. Nothing at all like we expected.

For dessert we had the coconut sundae and bananas foster. Both desserts were just okay - the main stars of the meal were definitely the appetizer and entrees. If we were ever in the area again - we would come here again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Jenniferlyn,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review here on Trip Advisor for other travelers to read.

King's Weekend was super weather....the same could not be said for this past weekend though. Asparagus is in season at the time and there is plenty of different ways of having it on our menu. The Firs Shrimp is still around even after of more than 8 years on the menu it is still a favorite.

Good to see you enjoyed the main and we will have to work on the desserts, because "just okay" is not really good enough for us at Season's. Luckily fresh fruit is just around the corner.

Again thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.