We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Chicago
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We celebrated King's Day Eve at Seasons and due to the great weather, we ate outside. With such great options, my husband and I both did the three course meals - where you get an appetizer, entree and dessert for a set price. I started with the goat cheese / asparagus / onion tart and it was great. I had never had asparagus before and I was surprised that I liked it so much. My husband had the fire shrimp and thought it was equally as good.

For our entrees, we had the chicken tikka masala and spicy garlic shrimp with noodles. Again - both dishes were so good. Nothing at all like we expected.

For dessert we had the coconut sundae and bananas foster. Both desserts were just okay - the main stars of the meal were definitely the appetizer and entrees. If we were ever in the area again - we would come here again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Jenniferlyn,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review here on Trip Advisor for other travelers to read.

King's Weekend was super weather....the same could not be said for this past weekend though. Asparagus is in season at the time and there is plenty of different ways of having it on our menu. The Firs Shrimp is still around even after of more than 8 years on the menu it is still a favorite.

Good to see you enjoyed the main and we will have to work on the desserts, because "just okay" is not really good enough for us at Season's. Luckily fresh fruit is just around the corner.

Again thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    547
    213
    50
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BeanTown
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I (mid 60's) ate at this restaurant two times because it was so good. (March 2014) Each time my wife really enjoyed a shrimp dish that she thought was one of the best she had. If you go before 6pm you will find Blaine (Head cook) and his staff eating out in front. By the way he is from Texas and very friendly. We enjoyed our talks before each meal. The food is out standing, the price reasonable for Europe. The atmosphere is very pleasant. All the staff is helpful, patient and friendly. We only hope Blaine consider opening a branch in Boston

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Billyla,

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor. It is always good to see guests return while they are visiting.

I do need to correct you that we usually have dinner at 17:00 unless there are reservations, and you must have seen one of those sunny days, not often that one can eat outside this time of the year!

I will pass your complimentary words on to the staff, and I have to say that Amsterdam is just fine, not going for a Boston branch.

Hope to see you on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We contacted months prior 4 restaurants listed as gluten free. Seasons were the only reply and sent copy menu. It looked sper and we pre booked. The restaurant is located in a nice Jordaan Street. It is nicy laid out, furnished and great decor. The menu covered all tastes; it had fish, chicken, steak, and an out of this world risotto. We choose three courses for a set price, the food was wonderful and the coffee the best ever. It was so goodvwe went back a second night.

Yes we will go back next time in town. It was busy both nights so suggest pre book.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Rinso84,

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor.

I am surprised to see sometimes, how difficult it is for restaurants to reply to emails to guests. It is by the way how we get more than 50% of our reservations. Gluten Free menus are not that difficult to make and most all menu''s allow for gluten free. We have a number of compliments on the risotto and glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

Yes we do recommend reservations as this time of the year is very busy. Look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Go for the 2 for one special -- good value. Try the caramelized onion tart! One of the best things I ate in Amsterdam. Might want to make a reservation as the restaurant is small.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear CoastalGardener,

Thanks for the short review here.

While our 2 for 1 Early Bird Special is good value, our regular prices are also quite fair. But Travelers note, this special is popular and an online reservation is needed to take part.

The homemade caramelized onions have been a special dish we run featuring more seasonal dishes, which now includes Asparagus and Goat;s Cheese. Glad you liked it,

Again thanks for your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked for an early supper - did this online. The food was excellent, fresh, well presented and very large portions too. Service was very good and we were made to feel very welcome.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Bertie,

Thanks for your quick review here on TripAdvisor. Glad to see that you had a good time and we do hope that you make it back again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.