We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,299 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
EDINBURGH
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We contacted months prior 4 restaurants listed as gluten free. Seasons were the only reply and sent copy menu. It looked sper and we pre booked. The restaurant is located in a nice Jordaan Street. It is nicy laid out, furnished and great decor. The menu covered all tastes; it had fish, chicken, steak, and an out of this world risotto. We choose three courses for a set price, the food was wonderful and the coffee the best ever. It was so goodvwe went back a second night.

Yes we will go back next time in town. It was busy both nights so suggest pre book.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Rinso84,

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor.

I am surprised to see sometimes, how difficult it is for restaurants to reply to emails to guests. It is by the way how we get more than 50% of our reservations. Gluten Free menus are not that difficult to make and most all menu''s allow for gluten free. We have a number of compliments on the risotto and glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

Yes we do recommend reservations as this time of the year is very busy. Look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    219
    53
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Go for the 2 for one special -- good value. Try the caramelized onion tart! One of the best things I ate in Amsterdam. Might want to make a reservation as the restaurant is small.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear CoastalGardener,

Thanks for the short review here.

While our 2 for 1 Early Bird Special is good value, our regular prices are also quite fair. But Travelers note, this special is popular and an online reservation is needed to take part.

The homemade caramelized onions have been a special dish we run featuring more seasonal dishes, which now includes Asparagus and Goat;s Cheese. Glad you liked it,

Again thanks for your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked for an early supper - did this online. The food was excellent, fresh, well presented and very large portions too. Service was very good and we were made to feel very welcome.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Bertie,

Thanks for your quick review here on TripAdvisor. Glad to see that you had a good time and we do hope that you make it back again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a very nice meal here, and it was good value for 2 courses. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. The menu was nice and varied with a touch of Asian inspiration. The miso salmon was flavoured to perfection and was nice and dark pink in the middle.

It gets very crowded, and the tables are quite close together so navigating to the back of the room is a tad complicated, but once your ensconced in your seat it's fine.

Book a table in advance because we watched tons of people being turned away as they were fully booked.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear SuzyCatPope,

Thanks so much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed yourself and always great to hear about staff welcoming and helpful.

Your words of advice about booking a table in advance is a good one. The last few weeks have seen us sending many guests away as we get really busy during the Spring Season. We do take a certain number of reservations, but do hold a few table for those who just might walk in.

We hope you make it back to see us again and thanks once more for the nice review!

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just a short walk (10-15 minutes) from central but far enough away you feel like you left most the tourists behind. Couple of outside seats allow you to enjoy the day. The Miso Salmon was great and so was the Chicken Marsala, next time I would also try their "Deconstructed" ceasar

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear David,

Thanks for taking a moment to write a review here for other travelers to read. Also thanks mentioning that you had Lunch with us.

With nice the weather outside is a great place to sit, with limited seating, we do offer a terrace. The street has really livened up with all the new shops and to sit and people watch is great.

We do not offer sandwiches at lunch, but a reduced menu of our dinner card, as we have found there are plenty of sandwiches in the street.

Hope to see you again soon and again thanks for your review.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.