We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked for an early supper - did this online. The food was excellent, fresh, well presented and very large portions too. Service was very good and we were made to feel very welcome.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Bertie,

Thanks for your quick review here on TripAdvisor. Glad to see that you had a good time and we do hope that you make it back again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    236
    57
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a very nice meal here, and it was good value for 2 courses. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. The menu was nice and varied with a touch of Asian inspiration. The miso salmon was flavoured to perfection and was nice and dark pink in the middle.

It gets very crowded, and the tables are quite close together so navigating to the back of the room is a tad complicated, but once your ensconced in your seat it's fine.

Book a table in advance because we watched tons of people being turned away as they were fully booked.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear SuzyCatPope,

Thanks so much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed yourself and always great to hear about staff welcoming and helpful.

Your words of advice about booking a table in advance is a good one. The last few weeks have seen us sending many guests away as we get really busy during the Spring Season. We do take a certain number of reservations, but do hold a few table for those who just might walk in.

We hope you make it back to see us again and thanks once more for the nice review!

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just a short walk (10-15 minutes) from central but far enough away you feel like you left most the tourists behind. Couple of outside seats allow you to enjoy the day. The Miso Salmon was great and so was the Chicken Marsala, next time I would also try their "Deconstructed" ceasar

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear David,

Thanks for taking a moment to write a review here for other travelers to read. Also thanks mentioning that you had Lunch with us.

With nice the weather outside is a great place to sit, with limited seating, we do offer a terrace. The street has really livened up with all the new shops and to sit and people watch is great.

We do not offer sandwiches at lunch, but a reduced menu of our dinner card, as we have found there are plenty of sandwiches in the street.

Hope to see you again soon and again thanks for your review.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Recommend you book! Fantastic Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is quite a small restaurant so I'd try and book if you want a Friday/Saturday night.

The menu is entirely seasonal so there was lots of Asparagus when we went this week! Mains are around 22 Euros but you can have two courses for 28 Euros.

We both had absolutely delicious starters and mains. The smoked chicken and mango salad starter was particularly lovely.

The atmosphere is great and so is the service. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear AnnaMaria84,

Thanks for taking a moment to post a review here for other guests to read.

As I have mentioned a few times before you are correct about making a booking if you want to get in on a weekend. This past weekend saw us turning away as many guests as we had seated. We do try to save some table for walk-in guests, but they can be quickly gone during the busy flower season.

As I am sitting here typing this note here to you I currently have the chicken outside in the smoker. The Oak Smoked Chicken Mango salad is also one of my favorites. Glad you enjoyed it.

We will pass your compliments on to the staff and we hope you can make it to see us again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Recommended by the owner of the B&B where we are staying, we went to Seasons on a Friday night. Seasons is in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam. It has outdoor seating, but because the night was chilly, we sat inside. Fortunately, we had a reservation because people without one, at least before 8:00 p.m., were being turned away. Upon entry, we were asked if we wished to check our coats and hats which we did (no charge and they were returned to us as we prepared to leave). We opted for the "two course meal" for 28 euros per person. For starters we had the Hollands Glorie and the Asparagus Goat Cheese and Onion Tart. Both were very good. My wife had the salmon with asparagus and I had the spicy shrimp with noodles. The salmon was excellent and the shrimp dish was very good. Served with the dinner were a basket of bread and a jar of various olives. With a bottle of wine (24.50 euro; not cheap, but comparable), the total bill was 86.00 euros, not bad in comparison to the prices we have paid in other comparable restaurants in Amsterdam, France and Italy. My wife told me to mention that the salmon was so perfectly seasoned that she did not add any salt or pepper. The service was prompt, friendly and efficient. Seasons has free wifi; we did not use it so we cannot comment on its functionality. We definitely recommend Seasons.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sociawg,

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor for other travelers to read. Glad to hear thatyou enjoyed your evening with us.

While reading your review it was nice to see that you really give other travelers a good overall sense of what we are about.

Mentioning free WiFi is not often done. While I have over the years have tried to avoid this in the restaurant it is just the way things are. When guests arrive we offer instructions on the WiFi. We also offer a App that lets people know our recommendations for other restaurants and things to do while here in Amsterdam.

Great to hear that you will be recommending us, as that is the best form of advertising.

Thanks again and hope to see you or your friends again soon.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.