We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 2,497 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Was recommended this restaurant by our hotel and we fully understand why!! The food was amazing, well priced in terms of set prices for 2 to 3 courses and a broad range to meet everyone's taste. We had the sharing fish platter which was delicious with prawns, crab fish cakes and scallops done with various sauces - amazing!! My partner had duck confit and I had the deconstructed beef Wellington - both as fantastic as each other. We were too full to have a dessert, although they were tempting, but we're delivered a mini dessert with our coffee. A thoroughly delicious menu, good service and in pleasant surroundings. Would recommend this if visiting Amsterdam and our looking for quality food at a good price

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Ian20142,

Thanks for your kind reveiw here on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear that you had a great evening while dining with us.

After seeing what you ate we can understand why you were to full to undertake the dessert course of our set menu. The Shared Fish Platter which consists of our Fire Shrimp, Two Scallops your Choice and Crab Cakes is a meal in itself.

You summed us up well with "A thoroughly delicious menu, good service and in pleasant surroundings."

We do hope you make it back again soon....but we need to warn you and other readers of this site that we will be closing after Lunch March 23rd and reopen again on March 28th for Dinner as we are making some changes to Season's!

Kind regards,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    275
    75
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Spanish food in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good recommendation of wine for dinner. Not overall expensive for Europe. Very friendly and food delish. Just remember if you want to add the tip to the bill must tell the waiter before your credit card is run.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jacqueline,

Thanks for your kind words here on TripAdvisor. We are not sure why you mention Spanish Food, but we do realise you posted correctly by reading your comment about the tip. It is true, we do not charge tip to credit cards, as the money left for tip is for the service personnel and note the restaurant owners.

Thanks again for the kind review and we hope to see you again soon!

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food was outstanding. Only downside was the place is pretty cramped, but worth the visit. Not too bad on price.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear JRN-NZ,

Thanks for your quick review of Season's this week.

Glad to that you thought he food was outstanding, but too bad you felt cramped. It is about the average size of local Amsterdam Restaurants and when they are full, as is often with us, they can be crowded. IF one comes earlier in the evening it is not so bad.

We do hope you make it again to see us!

Again thanks for the compliment and hope to see you again soon!

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

They had great food however the price was a little expensive for the food that was received. The atmosphere was great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Hisloi,

Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Was a little suprised about the note of "expensive", but we will look into it.

We do hope you make it back to see us again.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not tasty not special not worth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

just a random van der valk hotel is better than this restaurant! The portions are quit small in comparing with the prices, I don't understand why the salad served as side dishes is salty? The 'steak' is quit thin 5mm i guess? The waiters are not well trained, while putting my head down, he just put a menu card in my face.. overall... not a good choice to eat

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear IamJennifer,

First of all I apologize for an dinner that obviously was not what you were hoping for. I have been there the last two weeks every night and did not even hear of any complaints such as yours.

If you dined with us in the last 6 weeks you are aware that we conduct a survey at the end of the evening, and this morning I did see a score that Peter and I questioned, but there was no comment just a low score and no way we could have contacted the person ( so there was not much we could do if, again not sure if that was you.)

If one looks at the more than 675 comments we have there is not one I think that says our portions are small. A side salad that is salty is wrong,,,I agree..we do salt and pepper every salad, but there is no reason to be salty. We are currently training new personnel, and I feel there is nothing wrong with making a mistake and we will point your comment out to the staff.

I really regret that you had a bad time, but wish you would have pointed it out while dining with us so that we could have made some type of corrections. We do not think it is really correct to use your one and only (at least at this time) review on TripAdvisor as a complaint platform.

Again we apologize and regret we could not have done better as other reviewers have written.

Regards,

Blaine

PS....Sounds to us that you might be 'Local' as Van Der Valk is as Dutch as they get...by the way who says there is anything wrong with the product they offer?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.