We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is our favorite restaurant in the city. Multiple visits over the last year have reinforced our opinion that it is consistent and delicious and creative.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear EvanParis,

Thanks so much for your kind review. Says a lot when we hear that one can come to a place so many times and say that it is "consistent and delicious and creative".

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    236
    57
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“All nice and good, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Tasty, but no special twist to it. Wine too expensive for the quality. Atmosphere so so. Can't relate to the super ratings others have given the place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Listenwell,

Not sure I understand this posting. You reviewed us in October 2013 about a visit in September 2013, so why do you review us again in January 2014 about a visit in August 2013? Seems odd to me.

We are not really the kind of restaurant that has a "special twist", but offers good food and good service at a good price. There are plenty of restaurants that offer that "special twist" at a special price.

Sorry that you can not relate to the super ratings, but perhaps if you look more at the comments and not the ratings you might understand our concept better.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were on a short break in Amsterdam, and naturally had a quick look on Trip Advisor for ideas of where to eat. We are so glad that we did - the food was some of the best that we have had for a long time.
We took advantage of the early bird offer - 2 for 1 on the two course menu. It was an absolute bargain and we would have happily paid full price for our meals. Our starters of a deconstructed Ceaser salad for him and crab cakes for me set the tone for the whole meal - generous portions of top class ingredients lovingly prepared. For our main course we both had the surf and turf which was delicious, the steaks were cooked to perfection accompanied by succulent, flavourful shrimps. No room for desserts, but I am sure they would not have disappointed.
We will definitely recommend Seasons to friends and are looking forward to eating there when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Cheryl,

Thanks for taking a moment to post a review here on TripAdvisor for others to see. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening.

Yes the Early-Bird Special is an "absolute bargain", but thanks for mentioning that " we would have happily paid full price for our meals".

Having a "Surf and Turf" with those starters I can understand where there was no room for dessert, but do try them next time.

Again thanks and we kook forward to having you come back to see us soon.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great find in a lovely part of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Of all the restaurants we tried in Amsterdam, this was by far our favorite. The food was superbly cooked, the staff were very attentive and helpful, and the food was very reasonably priced. I will definitely recommend it to anyone who I hear is visiting Amsterdam, as it's close to the city center, and in a lovely district. I'll definitely be back for a visit.

Tip: try the scallops, they're amazing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Xplored,

Thanks for your nice review and glad to hear that we were a favorite of all your dining experiences while here in Amsterdam.

We will pass on your comments to the kitchen and service personnel and glad to hear that you will be telling more people about us.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely flavours in a cosy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We wandered in without a booking on a Saturday evening in January and they were happy to accommodate us, although they did fill up shortly thereafter.

The menu offered plenty of variety of cuisines and we settled for a two-course menu, starting with the crab cakes and the duck and Clementine salad. Both starters were of good size with plenty of great flavours.

We couldn't resist the sound of the unique surf-and-turf for mains, a combination of deconstructed beef Wellington, fillet of beef on a puff pastry, and firecracker prawns with a creamy sambal sauce and basil mash. We were glad we both chose this as we each would have been jealous of the other had we not. The flavours were fantastic, especially the firecracker prawns for which the restaurant seems to be known.

Its definitely worth a visit, and with the number of delicious-looking items on the menu we would visit again to sample more of it, were we staying longer than a weekend break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear DJTripreviewer,

Thanks so much for your kind review...and love the title..."Lovely flavours in a cosy setting"..great way to get it all in 6 words!

We do offer plenty of variety even during the winter months were there is plenty to choose from. Yes the "Fire Shrimp" all still a hit.

Too bad you did not get a chance to visit again and try other dishes, but I am sure we will be around your next visit to Amsterdam and hope to see you again.

Again thanks

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.