We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My last dinner in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My last dinner in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Went there by chance. It was raining, and the place we wanted to visit was full. Quick look at the tripadvisor app sent us there, because it was very nearby, and ranked high. It's a little place, less than ten tables. A very friendly service, very nice food and not so expensive. We enjoyed it a lot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Lior,

Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdvisor and glad we topped off your Amsterdam experience..

You summed us up well, but I have to admit we do have more than 10 tables.

Hope you can make it back again soon.

Kind regards,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    547
    214
    50
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Thanksgiving dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'll admit I'm a bit biased since I live right around the corner and am a regular but Seasons does a delightful Thanksgiving dinner in the same manner as their usual amazing fare. The jams they served along with the bread and cranberry sauce were particular high-points. Seasons has the atmosphere of a comfortable local restaurant (not the least pretentious) yet serving out of this world food. Amazing variety, always changing and inventive menu, and lovely staff. Highly recommend Seasons for anyone visiting or living in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Larry,

Thanks for your kind Thanksgiving Review here on TripAdvisor.

There have been a few reviews about Thanksgiving, but we really appreciate that you point out that we also have "amazing fare" throughout the year. This year I have taken on a "hobby" on the side of pickling and preserving and featured them also in the Thanksgiving meal.

Your last two lines sums us up well and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Happy Holidays,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An American Thanksgiving in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I can't speak to their usual menu but, if Thanksgiving dinner is any indicator, this is some of the best food you will find in Amsterdam. We went their because of their tripadvisor rating and couldn't have been happier. They had three sittings, one at noon and two in the evening. We took the noon spot and it was great. I chose pumpkin and coconut soup and beet root salad with the main course a traditional plate of smoked turkey, mashed potatoes, yams, spinach soufflé, green beans...all prepared to perfection. Throw in a bottle of Alsatian Riesling and a Heineken and it was one great Thanksgiving dinner.

Blaine creates the magic in the kitchen while Peter runs a highly efficient front end. The entire experience was a blast with two great hosts who really care about their restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Weedspay,

Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdvisor for other guests to read.

You seemed to sum up the day very well.

Loved your last line...."the entire experience was a blast with great hosts who really care about their restaurant."

Thanks again and hope you make it back!

Happy Holidays,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another fantastic meal at Seasons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Dinner here is consistently a great dining experience. From the nice atmosphere, friendly service and solid menu options this is my go-to place for dinner out. I have brought friends, family and business associates to dine here on various occasions and all have raved about the food and service. The appetizer, entree and dessert deals cannot be beat. And, the Chef's imaginative combinations with tastes and textures consistently surprise and delight.
I am definitely glad we found Seasons.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear KimberlyL.

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor.

Yes you have dined with us on a few occasions and always with new people. Thanks for spreading the word.

While you were here on Thanksgiving you mentioned you had informed your mother in the USA, who has dined with us before, that you all were spending the meal with us. Her reply was that she knew you were good hands. I must admit that was one of the nicest compliments I have heard in while. Thanks!

As you mentioned ..."from the nice atmosphere, friendly service and solid menu options this is my go-to place for dinner out"..we hope more people find it as a "go-to" place!

Hope to see you again soon.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Thanksgiving Meal Ever (in Amsterdam)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Perhaps the best meal ever!! The is was just the main course (Baked Ham & Roasted Turkey, baked sweet potato, mashed potato, pesto string beans, sauteed spinach with dried cranberries, and slaw of shredded brussel sprouts in a ginger dressing) in a 5 course dinner Preceded by coconut pumpkin soup , butternut ricotta tart salad, and goat cheese stuffed figs wrapped in Serrano ham, and then followed by a dessert plate with 5 desserts - panna cotta with raspberry sauce, mincemeat pie, pumpkin pie, roasted pear with mascarpone cream, and ) . Amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Apritchard,

Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdivsor.

As I have lived abroad for over 25 years, this is the one Holiday that I miss all those good home treats. A few tweets here and there we have now been holding the event in Season's for over 8 years and we have all found that this is one of the most enjoyable days to work with each other and guests.

Glad to here you enjoyed it and that you got a little piece of home cooking while in Amsterdam!

Happy Holidays!

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.