We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, very laid back restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, Amsterdam 1015 CA, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 2,229 restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, very laid back restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Not fussy or formal in decor, this restaurant saves all the bells & whistles for the food. The food is fresh and good (though my pea and fava bean salad oddly had no fava beans), the portions ample, and the prices not unreasonable for Amsterdam. Very friendly and easy service. A good find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear JHL55,

Thanks so much for your review here on Trip Advisor.

You give a very good review of the place and what we have to offer. I also want to say thanks for the note about the Fava Beans....I have followed up to make sure that we get the dish right. There is no excuse for that.

We hope you get a chance to come back and see us again in the future.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    515
    195
    46
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Surprising Find/ Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just stumbles upon the wonderful place, the food was excellent we had a cornish game hen and poached salmon both entrees were excellent, had the tart with caramelized onions for a Appetizer and a nice bottle of Sancere, meal was delicious and will return again.

Seasons restaurant / Herenstaat 16 1015 CA

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Leedsway,

Thanks so much for the review here on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much.

We do hope you have a chance to stop in again.

Blaine

Also putting the address on the comment was a nice touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our host at Boogaard's B&B recommended this restaurant for us and we were very happy we followed his recommendation - it was the best meal we had in 25 days in Europe. From the moment we arrived, everything was just perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful with wine and food recommendations - I had the scallops as a starer and my husband had the "Hollands Glorie" (a plate of smoked sea food - shrimps, eel, salmon, trout). I am still trying to decide which one was the best! As main, I had the white fish and my husband had the quail in Thay sauce (superb!). The food is fresh and top quality. The place is beautiful, not very big, but cosy and with a great atmosphere. Price was also OK - we had the 2 course menu (27,50 euros each plus 2,50 for the staters we chose). Booking is highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jugazolia,

Thanks so much for your kind review. With such a positive review you leave us a big challenge to deliver to to other Trip Advisor guests.

The two starters you had are ones that have been on the menu for awhile and are also two of my favorites. The cod and quail are also nice main courses.

It is also nice to hear you compliment the restaurant itself and of course the staff. They do their best and care greatly for their guests, we shall pass on your compliment.

And yes.....Booking is recommended this time of year!

Hope you make it back to see us again soon.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

During a week's stay in Amsterdam we ate at several different restaurants in Central. Seasons was by far the best. We particularly appreciated the freshness of the food. The spring pea and bean salad with asparagus and avocado was delightful. The veggies with the two mains were cooked just right, something that is the mark of a good kitchen. Service was attentive and friendly and the prices reasonable. We will definitely return on our next visit to the city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Dennis,

Your comment here on TripAdvisor about our restaurant is greatly appreciated by us and hopefully by other TripAdvisor readers.

We do shop daily to ensure that all ingredients are fresh and of the best quality. Cooking vegetables to just the right point is important and you are correct not always obtained. We are glad we you enjoyed them as well as the Fresh Spring Salad.

We do hope you make it back in your next visit to Amsterdam.

Again thanks for the review.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Seasons has a special rate between 5 and 6 pm. Two meals for the price of one. The food was delicious and the service was very pleasant. With the special the cost of the meal was very affordable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Annekeray,

Thanks for taking time to post a quick review here on TripAdvisor for others to read.

While you mention the Early Bird Special, we also think our regular price fixed menu is also quite affordable.

If you get back to Amsterdam we hope you have a chance to visit again.

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.