We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 2,589 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We first visited Seasons 3 years ago, and were keen to see if it was as good as we remember. The good news is the food is just as good, if not even better than we recall. The restaurant is small, so a reservation might be a good idea, the welcome was warm, we were seated quickly, coats removed and hung up for us. The waitress explained the menu, she was friendly while still being professional, which we like.
There's a set 2 or 3 course menu, but plenty of choice so there's bound to be something that takes your fancy. The 2 course dinner is 27.50 euros so more than reasonable for food of this quality in the centre of Amsterdam.
My main was the surf and turf, a portion of Seasons' fire shrimp coupled with an inside out beef wellington, the photo I have posted doesn't do it justice. My wife chose the shrimp with avocado and orange salad, and like me, was very pleased with her selection. Desserts were of equal quality although the banana and chocolate fritters could have done with a touch more chocolate, of course that might not be to everyones tastes and in fairness the plate was still licked clean (not literally).
Already looking forward to returning on our next visit to Amsterdam. It's just a shame they don't open for lunch!
To the lady who I briefly spoke to at The Convent Hotel I hope you and your daughter enjoyed your meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Tajandmark,

Thanks so much for your 2nd review here on TripAdvisor!

While TripAdvisor comments mean a lot to us, more important to us is to see returning guests and those recommended to us by their friends who have visited, really enjoying their time.

I did look at your last review prior to this one and see that actually our prices have not changed much in three years! That is a good thing...we want to offer guests a nice night out with good food and an environment with out feeling they just got "ripped Off". We do offer an extensive menu and there is bound to be something on the menu for everyone!

Yes we are small, but by Amsterdam standards we are about the "normal" size. Reservatins are highly recommended!

We hope you get back to our Great City soon and also drop by for another dinner ( sorry Lunch just is not on the program for now)

Kind regards

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    282
    81
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Caring owner puts love into craft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Seasons was a fantastic culinary treat for my friend and I. From the winter-themed pumpkin and coconut soup (thoughtfully retained on the menu when the spring weather stayed on the cold side in April!) to the phyllo-puff creation with mushrooms, our meal was a delight. The service was personal and warm, and you could hear the delight in other diner's voices as they marveled at their selections.

A small restaurant, as most in the city are, you'll find yourself crowded in, but the food makes it worth it. Save room for dessert, and savor the experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Qlever,

Sometimes when one feels so tired and ready to give up.... an Angel shows up! Your review was just that!

I had been sick for a few days and struggling to get a menu made. Your title made me remember why we do what we do.....put love into our craft!

So glad that you enjoyed your time and we really hope you make it back again soon!

Thanks

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We tried this restaurant for the first time with friends
The food was excellent and very friendly staff, a good atmosphere and the waitress heard us saying it was my husbands birthday and put some sparklers on his dessert and the whole restaurant sang Happy Birthday ! We will definitely be going back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Pamela,

Thanks for posting a review here for other Trip Advisors to read.

We are glad to know that your evening was an enjoyable/ memorable evening with the extra touch for dessert. (Noemi, the waitress, has a way of overhearing things...)

It also sounds like you are a "local" which is also good to hear.. Often it it said that we cater to only to tourists, but that is not the case as you can prove. We will be changing our menu soon and hope to see you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Restaurant for a night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Looked this place up and made a reservation based solely on reviews. The place turned out to be a real gem.

It was crowded and it was a bit difficult getting to our table, but once seated the staff was very nice. The two course meal deal was great and we were not disappointed with our good options. The mushroom risotto was delicious and the stroganoff was perfectly filling. Deserts looked great as well but we were just too full to try. The restaurant was an overall success. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sully,

Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Glad to know that the site worked well for you.

Yes it has been busy and the place is crowded most nights, but a reservation does help. The two dishes you mention are truly filling ones if that starter is finished off.

Thanks for the recommendations and we do hope you make it back to see us again.

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a peaceful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My partner and I dined her over the Easter weekend. We didn't make a booking, however we were lucky to get a table for dinner, as the restaurant was very full. My partner had the risotto for entree (he was happy with the large serving!) and it was very tasy. I had the salmon with ratatouille for main which was cooked perfectly. The pancake for dessert was ok, but i would try something else next time. The only issue was that our mains took 1 hour to be served (we were told 40mins as my partner ordered the quail). This wouldnt have been a big problem but we had tickets to the movies and had to rush through dessert. The staff were very friendly though. Overall I would highly recommend dining at Seasons restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine H, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Amyot,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor.

Easter weekend was a busy one for us as have the last couple been. Glad to hear that the risotto was a good start and I apologize for the delay in the quail. Should not have taken so long, even during a busy weekend night.

Hopefully you can stop again and see us and perhaps not on such a busy period.

Kind regards,

Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.