We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Restaurant

Seasons Restaurant
16 Herenstraat, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 330 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 2,578 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our hotel recommended this restaurant to us... the food was excellent. i had the zuchinni and blue cheese soup, my boyfriend had the Fire shrimp, which was very spice but excellent. and for main i had the miso salmon with greens and he had the inside out beef wellington. Both mains were delicious as were the desserts we had the mango and basil ice cream as well as the chocolate cake. The manager was very friendly and helpful and the price was very reasonable. Best meal we had in Amsterdam, would definitely go there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear PossibleBliss,

Thanks for your review posted here on Trip Advisor. Glad to also hear that your hotel felt comfortable enough to recommend Season's to you.

The dishes you mention are some of the standard items we offer on the menu, but great all the same.

We try to offer a wide selection of dishes for people to choose from at a reasonable price. We beleive even in a "crisis" time, people want to enjoy a nice night out and not feel like they spent a large a fortune! Sounds like we got it right with you.

Kind regards and again thanks for your comments.

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    281
    78
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had on our 11 week European trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Walked past this small restaurant close to our hotel and booked for the early bird meal.
There were 3 of us so we had three 2 course meals for the price of two. The total bill was E69 including wine and beer, so happy with the price.

It soon became apparent this is a very busy, popular restaurant so we were lucky to get a table.

The food was divine. I had the satay dish. 3 skewers from a choice of 5 and they were all delicious. I choose chilli beef, pheasant sausage with bacon, and, salmon with ginger dressing served with aspargus wrapped in bacon, fries and snow pea salad. It was one of the most memorable meals we had in the 11 weeks we spent in Europe.
The ice cream with cherries had me in berry heaven.

The staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Alijum,

Thanks so much for your kind words. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We have continued with our Early Bird Special offering 2 for 1 durning the early dining hours. This is a popular promotion and reservations are highly recommended during this period.

The Sate Night is a great meal in itself if you decide to do it. All you need on one plate and to finish with our Ice Cream Sundae where you choose your choice of ice cream and then finish it off with a topping of your desire.

We will also pass your comments on to the staff.

If you do get back to Amsterdam, we hope you stop in again.

Kind regards,

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This restaurant is easily accesible on foot from almost any hotel in the city.
The service is very friendly, knowledgable and attentive.
We had an excellent asparagus dish, spagetti.
Great olive oil with the bread.
The panacotta dessert was fantastic as was the icecream.
Great wine (Marques de Caceres) was available at a very reasonable price.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Cbroo,

Thanks for taking time to write a review here on Traip Advisor.

Sounds as if we got all the points right while you were with us.

If you do get back to Amsterdam please look us up.

Kind regards

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very crowded, slow service, but great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This cute little restaurant was easy to find and we had reservations so we were seated right away. However, it took about 10 minutes before we were even given a menu. Asparagus was in season so to start I had an asparagus dish with prosciutto, a poached egg and black truffle oil. It was excellent and the asparagus were huge! My husband had Jersey potatoes with smoke mackerel, salmon, capers, a poached quail egg and mustard sauce. Also excellent. For my main course I had seared salmon with miso sake broth, asparagus, haircots verts and jasmine rice. It was very good and the salmon was cooked perfectly. My husband had a sate special made up of 3 skewers; lamb and fig (5.0), chile rub beef (too well done and tough) and shrimp (over cooked). Service was slow but they were very busy and our server was very courteous. Also, the tables are packed in pretty tight so it felt a bit cramped.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainesadam, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear McKinsey,

Greetings from Amsterdam and thanks for posting a review here on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you made it to us after going to the wrong restaurant, Max our neighbor, and a new restaurant here on Trip Advisor the night before. It is good to see here on Trip Advisor that 3 of the Top Restaurants are within 200 meters of each other. There are many restaurants in this area and to be honest something for all tastes.

By reading your comment we can imagine that you came on a weekend during the Spring, as our menu has changed. Asparagus is still here for another week, but will soon dissappear. Sorry for the wait, but as you pointed out it was quite busy. While I am glad you were satisifed with the food, we will look into the items that you mentioned were overcooked.

Again thanks for your comments and we hope you get back to Amsterdam to see us again.

Kind regards,

Blaine & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tis the Season to be jolly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Have no idea really. It shouldn't have happened but we got lost on the way. What should have been a 10 minute walk actually took about half an hour.

No booking, but a table for two was ours. The tables along the right hand wall are close together. When our neighbours to the right arrived, I calculated our tables were 10cm from each other. A tiny bit encroaching!

Menus to peruse. Ordered wine by the glass and along come 4 slices ciabatta accompanied by a tiny handfull of peanuts; some very unctuous EVO oil and a tuna and horseradish dip.

We each chose the two course (Euro24.50) meal.

Starters. It's asparagus season. Hooray! Two green and two white succulent spears; wrapped in bacon, grilled and served with a frisee salad. Sensational. Not too heavy, just right.

Mains. We each chose sates. A choice of three from a possible six. Lamb and fig; pheasant sausage and scallops with a garlic pesto sauce. The finest French green beans with slivered shallots and a huge bowl of fries.

It was indescribable. The melange of flavours. Sublte. Tasty. Lip smacking. What else?

This was one of the best meals either of us had had.

Tried to book again for our last night in town, but Amster-dam it all......the were having the night off.

Can't help bad luck.

One tiny niggle. We were charged 2 Euros for a bottle of tap water. A small price to pay however.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainesadam, Owner at Seasons Restaurant, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Muriel,

Thanks for taking time to post a review here on Trip Advisor. And we apologise for taking the Wednesday off, one of us had a B-Day and just wanted to celebrate. Normally we are open 7 days a week.

Glad you enjoyed all your courses and you described them to a "T". We try to have a menu for all with a wide range of flavours, from sweet, spicy, to savoury. Sounds like you had a good mix.

You also mentioned the closeness of the tables, which I am afraid goes for all the tables. As for the niggle for water (we do not charge for bread and condiments)... again we ask to look at the entire bill and we think we still offer a good value for money meal.

We hope you make it back again soon.

Kind regards and again thanks for your comments.

Blaine & Peter

You mention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.