We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Shy of Excellence...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Palace

Sea Palace
8 Oosterdokskade, 1011 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020 626 4777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #826 of 2,331 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just Shy of Excellence...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had two VERY GOOD meals here during our week in Amsterdam. Absolutely beautiful floating palace of a restaurant...with exceptional views.
Dim Sum is a great lunch option, and our "Special Seafood Dinner for Two" was outstanding.
The SERVICE, however, NOT SO MUCH!
From the perspective of a food service professional, it appeared that there was little to no communication between the waitstaff, (3 servers took our drink orders, et), seated with no menus, and waited 15 minutes to be greeted after seating. Service improved once we ordered, and things got moving.
The place is VERY BUSY, and VERY LARGE, and being on Holiday, we can be somewhat forgiving....this is Europe, and you are expected to dine slowly....that said, I would still highly recommend the Sea Palace for the food, but don't expect the service to match the price points.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    178
    97
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Not an obvious choice for eating out in Amsterdam, but I'm glad we opted for an expensive evening out!

Great service in a striking floating restaurant with great food.

The aromatic duck was fantastic, as were the main meals that followed.

Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Forgot us!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We sat down and ordered our drinks and we got normal coke instead of diet coke and the Wrong type of beer :-(
We then ordered our starters and the lady said she would come back and take our main order
We got our starters and they were all wrong again :-(
We ordered more drinks and we got normal coke again instead of the diet coke we ordered :-(
We then waited for someone to clear the table of our starter plates and take our mains order but when we got the attention of someone they said the kitchen was shut, we said you are joking and he said he wasn't :-(
He then said he will speak to the manager and after 15 to 20 mins he came back and said he could do nothing for us and said he could do us a cold desert, what a total joker!!
I then said I would like the bill and paid and left, they did say sorry but what good was that as they ruined one of our nights in Amsterdam :-(
No manager came over!!
They were too busy taking pics of people and having a laugh at the bar to bother with us :-(
I did tell them that I would write about out treatment but they didn't care
Very unprofessional restaurant and Manager
Any Questions you can mail me at nicolesherisanderson@yahoo.co.uk
I don't just comment and hide, this was all true
Nicole

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good -but expensive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really nice Chinese food. A big menu with a lot of options. The dishes with veal/beef are fantastic and fish is also good. The location is very convenient: just 5-minute walk from Central Station. Average cost per person around 50 €

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Thought of going there for some years now, finally did it. Disappointing. The duck had more bones than meat. Saté was just that, nothing next to accompany it. Staff was friendly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Palace also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.