We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 | Hotel Okura, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)
+31 20 6787 450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 2,537 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $122
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: The Teppan-chefs will prepare the most delicious fish, meat and vegetarian dishes on a hot iron griddle at your table: a la minute cooking with Japanese precision. The contemporary Japanese interior, inspired by the elements of stone, wood, water and fire, is an oasis of tranquillity. The teppanyaki griddles are large enough for seven to ten guests and are ideal for both business and celebratory dinners. Sazanka is open for dinner from 18:30 to 22:00 daily. Lunch can be prepared for a minimum group size of 10 people and must be booked in advance.
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Fantastic food and service.
We eat a 5 course menu, and we ordered wine from the wine menu.
The somelie was a bit pushy for the 100€ wines, but as long as we tasted it we could reject.
But the food was fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    54
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, very nice wine, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Sazanka is a teppanyaki restaurant, which means that you sit around a very hot plate with up to ten people, while one chef prepares your food at the plate. You have a choice between some set menus which start at around EUR 85 and a la carte dining.
The food is of excellent quality and the chefs put a lot of effort into the cooking process and presentation. The staff here is friendly and ready to offer advice on menus and wine. The restaurant has a good wine selection, although you do pay for the quality they offer.
I was there with my partner, which meant that we were sharing the table with other diners. Usually, this means that at some point during the evening you will socialise with your direct neigbours, but you don't have to. This set-up also means that it is a very good restaurant to take your clients for (an expensive) business dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very nice restaurant. A bit expensive, but it is worth it's money. Try beef angus... Better to come with friends. In this case you'd not be sitting next to strangers. But we made friends with people at our table abs spent wonderful time! Delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The highlight of our two day visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

A real dining experience. Staff are excellent and if you are into your food you will love this. Whilst you can just have a course, it's worth spending as much as you can afford. We had the €110 set and it was excellent in terms of value and quality. They also have a delightful late harvest Sauvignon Blanc as a dessert wine which was exquisite. We booked for 8 and seemed to be at the back end of the evening, but it made no difference. If you want to be in the thick of it a 7/7.30 booking may be better.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fine dining for the whole evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The restaurant is inside the Okura Hotel and is a great place to spent a few hours. All the food is prepared at your table with high quality ingredients. Big wine selection and people who know everything about the wines so they can help you making a good choice to go with your food.

You can choose out of different menu's with different amounts of servings. In the menu's there are options too, different kinds of beef or changing your seafood for meat, chicken of vegetarian. It's also possible to have sushi or a la carte food.

We came in at 8PM and left just before midnight so you do make it a whole evening dining. It's not cheap but quality and atmosphere make the prices right.

Make sure you make a reservation for this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.