We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 (Hotel Okura) | Nnn, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 678 7450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,279 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $27 - $147
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: On Hotel Okura Amsterdam's ground floor, you will find the Okura's Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka. Teppanyaki literally means 'to grill on a hot plate', which is traditionally the oldest way of preparing food in Japan. This kind of dining is very popular in its native country, in part because the chef prepares the most delicious dishes right before the guests' eyes. Various fishes and meats, including the very exclusive Wagyu beef, are prepared a la minute with Eastern precision. The Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka's interior features a contemporary Japanese style, the design of which is based on the elements of stone, wood, water and fire. The eleven teppanyaki hot plates will seat seven to ten guests each and are perfect for both business and festive occasions. It is also possible to reserve a private room with two hot plates, offering plenty of space for a maximum of 18 guests.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you are in Amsterdam and you wish to treat yourself with an amazing dining experience, look no further and book at table at Sazanka c/o the Hotel Okura. The atmosphere is sophisticated without being pretentious and at the same time you will have an exceptionally good dining experience.

Be prepared to spend around 150/200 Euros if you want to enjoy the full Teppanyaki experience but believe it, it is going to be worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    142
    28
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Children Friendly Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten at Sazanka five times, this being my second with children. This time we were a group of eight; four adults and four children (ages 7 to 16). All but one of us selected the Sazanka Classic menu with the other choosing the Sazanka Vegetarian option. The food was lovingly prepared before our eyes and our children were actively engaged in the preparation process. Caroline, the Sommelier is first rate and she paired our food with excellent wines; the highlight being the Amarone Della Valpolicella Classico, Tommasi which worked beautifully with the Black Angus. The professional staff genuinely engaged with and enjoyed the children while attentively serving the relaxed adults. It was a memorable dining experience that lasted 3 plus hours! Bring the kids and don't be shy about trying the delicious vegetarian teppanyaki option!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food, service and wine pairing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I spent some days post Christmas and made reservations at this restaurant but didn't have an idea of what to expect. We were very nicely surprised by the attention to detail, the quality of the food and the pairing of the food with the wine.
The bill was high and there are not really many choices that are low price so be prepared to pay. I would have to agree with another review that the decor is too simple looking like a lobby so if this could be improved would make for a chic atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Dhodhekanisos, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

the food the tastes the atmosfere was really fantastic at the other side have to say that is very expensive and there is no good value of money
what you eat is very good but dont know if its worth the ammount of money that you pay

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We booked a different restaurant by mistake and arrived at Sazanka thinking it was the one we had booked. Apparently this is not unknown as the maitre'd (Kar Wing Fung) explained. It appears that the website had recently been hacked which gave rise to this error. He offered us a table despite the restaurant being very busy as it was a Friday evening. We sat at the unusual table shared by 4 other guests in front of us being a large hot plate where the personal chef was to prepare and cook our order. Efficient and attentive without being in any way intrusive is how best to describe the service. The wine and the cuisine were both superb. There was no attempt to rush us through our meal but the advice given by both Mr Fung and the female wine waiter could not be bettered. Absolutely terrific in every way and a different experience to be recommended whole heartedly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.