We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 (Hotel Okura) | Nnn, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 678 7450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $27 - $148
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: On Hotel Okura Amsterdam's ground floor, you will find the Okura's Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka. Teppanyaki literally means 'to grill on a hot plate', which is traditionally the oldest way of preparing food in Japan. This kind of dining is very popular in its native country, in part because the chef prepares the most delicious dishes right before the guests' eyes. Various fishes and meats, including the very exclusive Wagyu beef, are prepared a la minute with Eastern precision. The Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka's interior features a contemporary Japanese style, the design of which is based on the elements of stone, wood, water and fire. The eleven teppanyaki hot plates will seat seven to ten guests each and are perfect for both business and festive occasions. It is also possible to reserve a private room with two hot plates, offering plenty of space for a maximum of 18 guests.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We booked a different restaurant by mistake and arrived at Sazanka thinking it was the one we had booked. Apparently this is not unknown as the maitre'd (Kar Wing Fung) explained. It appears that the website had recently been hacked which gave rise to this error. He offered us a table despite the restaurant being very busy as it was a Friday evening. We sat at the unusual table shared by 4 other guests in front of us being a large hot plate where the personal chef was to prepare and cook our order. Efficient and attentive without being in any way intrusive is how best to describe the service. The wine and the cuisine were both superb. There was no attempt to rush us through our meal but the advice given by both Mr Fung and the female wine waiter could not be bettered. Absolutely terrific in every way and a different experience to be recommended whole heartedly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    137
    28
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Teppanyaki ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

In Sazanka Restaurant I had the best Teppanyaki I 've ever tasted up to this moment! The staff were all japanese and extremely attentive and friendly. Our specially trained japanese chef could adapt dishes and take into account any special dietary needs on the spot. The atmosphere was really good with hip but also classy notes. The food was extraordinary! For starters we had scallop and prawn salad ( see pics) and prawns with japanese mushrooms (see pics). For main we had fresh sea bass with its crispy skin separated (see pics), accompanied by a delicious leek sauce. Once at Okura hotel where Sazanka is located, private parking is available upon payment. Also parking at the streets around the hotel is possible at a slightly lower fee. Sazanka's prices definitely reflect the quality of the restaurant's food and service. If planning to dine there in a weekend it would be definitely worth making your reservation well in advance. Sazanka is a unique restaurant, ideal for special occasions! I would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Your usual Teppanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

You will definately need a reservation on a weekend night , we were lucky enough to get space for 2 on a friday. You will not be dissapointed with this restaraunt, do not think of this place as your run of the mill teppanyaki with peforming chefs and mediocre food. All the ingredients used were extremely fresh, and the service was quick and efficient. We tried their specialty Fish which was Grill/steamed in salt, which was amazing. And the Duck breast salad with Duck liver was exquisite.
All that being said, it is located within a 5 star hotel, so you can expect to be paying 5 star prices.

The White Sesame ice cream was something else, Its the first time ive seen White sesame ice cream with majority of japanese restaraunts serving the black sesame Ice cream worth the visit just for the ice cream!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in The Netherlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Oke, true that it will cost you but it is so worth it. After a day Amsterdam with partner and daughter we decided that we wanted quality Teppanyaki food. We knew the Okura Teppanyaki restaurant from years ago and without making a reservation we just went there. Space enough no reservation needed. Started with, Sushi (soft shell crab inside out) afterwards the smoked duck salad (sooooo good) followed by the Gamba, Lobster, Shabu Sabu (of wagyu beef) and fried rice from the Teppan plate. It was just delicious. It comes with a little show but for sure not overdone. If you want to spend a little extra money on quality Teppanyaki just find out yourself. We loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good. One of the best in Amsterdam.

But, the atmosphere is not special, almost like a hotel lobby. Individual seating is cramped due to missing leg room. Service is good, but a bit stiff.

Value for the money is not good.

Bottom line: sure thing for food, very expensive and so so atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.