We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Teppanyaki ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 | Hotel Okura, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6787 450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $120
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Teppan-chefs will prepare the most delicious fish, meat and vegetarian dishes on a hot iron griddle at your table: a la minute cooking with Japanese precision. The contemporary Japanese interior, inspired by the elements of stone, wood, water and fire, is an oasis of tranquillity. The teppanyaki griddles are large enough for seven to ten guests and are ideal for both business and celebratory dinners. Sazanka is open for dinner from 18:30 to 22:00 daily. Lunch can be prepared for a minimum group size of 10 people and must be booked in advance.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Teppanyaki ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

In Sazanka Restaurant I had the best Teppanyaki I 've ever tasted up to this moment! The staff were all japanese and extremely attentive and friendly. Our specially trained japanese chef could adapt dishes and take into account any special dietary needs on the spot. The atmosphere was really good with hip but also classy notes. The food was extraordinary! For starters we had scallop and prawn salad ( see pics) and prawns with japanese mushrooms (see pics). For main we had fresh sea bass with its crispy skin separated (see pics), accompanied by a delicious leek sauce. Once at Okura hotel where Sazanka is located, private parking is available upon payment. Also parking at the streets around the hotel is possible at a slightly lower fee. Sazanka's prices definitely reflect the quality of the restaurant's food and service. If planning to dine there in a weekend it would be definitely worth making your reservation well in advance. Sazanka is a unique restaurant, ideal for special occasions! I would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    49
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Your usual Teppanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

You will definately need a reservation on a weekend night , we were lucky enough to get space for 2 on a friday. You will not be dissapointed with this restaraunt, do not think of this place as your run of the mill teppanyaki with peforming chefs and mediocre food. All the ingredients used were extremely fresh, and the service was quick and efficient. We tried their specialty Fish which was Grill/steamed in salt, which was amazing. And the Duck breast salad with Duck liver was exquisite.
All that being said, it is located within a 5 star hotel, so you can expect to be paying 5 star prices.

The White Sesame ice cream was something else, Its the first time ive seen White sesame ice cream with majority of japanese restaraunts serving the black sesame Ice cream worth the visit just for the ice cream!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in The Netherlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Oke, true that it will cost you but it is so worth it. After a day Amsterdam with partner and daughter we decided that we wanted quality Teppanyaki food. We knew the Okura Teppanyaki restaurant from years ago and without making a reservation we just went there. Space enough no reservation needed. Started with, Sushi (soft shell crab inside out) afterwards the smoked duck salad (sooooo good) followed by the Gamba, Lobster, Shabu Sabu (of wagyu beef) and fried rice from the Teppan plate. It was just delicious. It comes with a little show but for sure not overdone. If you want to spend a little extra money on quality Teppanyaki just find out yourself. We loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good. One of the best in Amsterdam.

But, the atmosphere is not special, almost like a hotel lobby. Individual seating is cramped due to missing leg room. Service is good, but a bit stiff.

Value for the money is not good.

Bottom line: sure thing for food, very expensive and so so atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“everything we put in our mouth was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Were there without a reservation, a Tuesday evening before the start of a conference. We were 3 adults. Service was exquisite; Japanese know what service is. One of us does not eat sea food, there fore it was changed for meat. Had a lovely time, 3 service. It is not cheap; it is simply delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.