We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese restaurant in The Netherlands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ferdinand Bolstraat 333 | Hotel Okura, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 6787 450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,508 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $122
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Teppan-chefs will prepare the most delicious fish, meat and vegetarian dishes on a hot iron griddle at your table: a la minute cooking with Japanese precision. The contemporary Japanese interior, inspired by the elements of stone, wood, water and fire, is an oasis of tranquillity. The teppanyaki griddles are large enough for seven to ten guests and are ideal for both business and celebratory dinners. Sazanka is open for dinner from 18:30 to 22:00 daily. Lunch can be prepared for a minimum group size of 10 people and must be booked in advance.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in The Netherlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Oke, true that it will cost you but it is so worth it. After a day Amsterdam with partner and daughter we decided that we wanted quality Teppanyaki food. We knew the Okura Teppanyaki restaurant from years ago and without making a reservation we just went there. Space enough no reservation needed. Started with, Sushi (soft shell crab inside out) afterwards the smoked duck salad (sooooo good) followed by the Gamba, Lobster, Shabu Sabu (of wagyu beef) and fried rice from the Teppan plate. It was just delicious. It comes with a little show but for sure not overdone. If you want to spend a little extra money on quality Teppanyaki just find out yourself. We loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    53
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good. One of the best in Amsterdam.

But, the atmosphere is not special, almost like a hotel lobby. Individual seating is cramped due to missing leg room. Service is good, but a bit stiff.

Value for the money is not good.

Bottom line: sure thing for food, very expensive and so so atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“everything we put in our mouth was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Were there without a reservation, a Tuesday evening before the start of a conference. We were 3 adults. Service was exquisite; Japanese know what service is. One of us does not eat sea food, there fore it was changed for meat. Had a lovely time, 3 service. It is not cheap; it is simply delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binche, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fine mix between taste and performance...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Third visit to that amazing restaurant. Always a fantastic tasty show in a very nice athmosphere. The wine recommandation was perfectly adjusted. Expensive but so worth it. For an exclusive upscale experience ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lot off money and tast all the same”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

yhe tast in this restaurant is all the same and cost you a lot off money please go into town and find where is amsterrdam famous about all good and cheap food all over town

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Holidayexpert121,
Thank you for your review. We constantly strive to serve a wide range of the best products of the highest quality according to the seasons. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and that you didn't experience the service and high quality we are known for. We do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.