We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rose's Cantina

Rose's Cantina
Reguliersdwarsstraat 38, Amsterdam 1017 BM, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
020-625-9797
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1,056 of 2,141 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I visited 5 years ago and loved it. Best mexican ever and was really looking forward to going back but when I returned last week I didn't recognise it. It has had a massive makeover and is much bigger. Still dark and cosy but not so charming or busy. Lots of empty seats but were sat right next to other people so felt like we had to talk quietly. Menu had very few options on it for mains which was disappointing. The food was fine but I wouldn't go back again unless there were lots more options to choose from. Staff were all brilliant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    18
    31
    20
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Whaaaat??????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Music so bloody loud that it made talking impossible. This despite asking for it to be tuned down. We were at dinner with a group of eight and couldn't hear the person next to us. Get a grip, Rose. I'm sure your customers want to talk over a nice meal, not have to leave the place hoarse from having to shout.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided spontaneously to take a drink there. We had a Bombay gin tonic and a lemongrass Collins - both were absolutely delicious and for a reasonable price. The place seemed very full but the staff was friendly and helpful. First we were seated at the bar but some minutes later we got the chance to sit at the table. It is a very good place to have a couple of drinks or even eat something at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really lovely place great food and cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I went to this restaurand my second night in Amsterdam and it was really busy(it was saturday night) , and I tried my luck to get a table and it was after 9pm and the manager said no problem and after 5 minutes we got our table and I've said that I had the Amsterdam card so if we could get a special menus and discount and the guy said that are not in that offer anymore since the start of 2013 and after noticed that we were a bit dissappointed he offered us a 15% and we were so happy about it!!! So we order some tortillas and I had the burger and my girlfriend a lamb that was perfectly cooked ( I am a Chef) and we really enjoyed the time in there so def I will back here in my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quick meal and cocktail before the movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A colleague of mine recommended Rose's Cantina. I went her with a friend for a quick bite before visiting the movie. The staff was very friendly, took our coats and helped us quickly since we had to catch a movie.

We shared a plate of nachos and ordered the burger and enchilada, we both enjoyed the food. I also really enjoyed the Old Fashioned Whisky Cocktail that I ordered, it was a little piece of art and tasted like it should. Good to find out that there still are some restaurants that know how to prepare cocktails.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's Cantina also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rose's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Rose's Cantina to your Saves list