We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - a must when in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72 (NH Barbizon Palace Hotel), 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-556-4885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $28 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb - a must when in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you enjoy good food you'll enjoy Restaurant Vermeer in Amsterdam.....half a dozen table in a simple white room...great food....discrete service.....what you'd expect from a michelin restaurant....we'll be recommending this place to all of our friends and will be making sure to book a table for our next visit to Amsterdam....you have the choice of two four course or two seven set course set menu's or an a la carte menu of three starters, three mains and three desserts to choose from....nothing on the menu wasn't of interest....we didn't try the wine paring preferring to choose our own wine...that worked for us....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    22
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Living in Rotterdam, We seldom go to Amsterdam. Combining a visit with the Rijksmuseum we dedided to pay this Michelin one star restaurant a visit. Unbelievably, it was only half full. Unbelievable, because the food was more than excellent, with an even better service. The menu was easily changed to our wishes, with several very good vegeterian alternatives (leaving some fish for my girlfriend, and one meat dish for me). Accompanying wine was very, very good with some surprising choices (Hungarian wine and UK peer wine). I can recommend this restaurant to any one. Only problem can be the price, which is two star..... (We paid 320 EURO fot two). However, it is worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good vegetable dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Vermeer is a one Michelin star restaurant in the Barbizon hotel across the street from Central Station in Amsterdam. The degustation menu is called “From the Land Collection” and consists of 7 courses for 99 euros. Matching wines are 59 euros. We didn’t feel like having veal sweatbread, and were offered the chef’s signature vegetable dish instead.

It already becomes clear from the amuses bouche that the chef really loves vegetables. The first one is tomato sponge cake with pickled carrot, honey from the hotel’s roof beehive and mustard seeds. Something the chef calls ‘caponata’ but doesn’t really taste like that Sicilian dish. Very nice all the same. Melon gazpacho with tarragon granité. I think there also was some beetroot in there. The tarragon granité had great flavor. Pumpkin with roasted onion and what they call ‘tajine spices’ (a tajine is a Moroccan cooking vessel). A very good set of amuse bouche, 9/10.

The first course of the menu is a scallop with tarragon and chard, with a clam sauce and pickled fennel. The clam flavor could have been a bit stronger, but the scallop was perfectly cooked and nice with the tarragon and chard. The Italian white that was supposed to be the matching wine for this course was not available, and was substituted with a 2012 Chablis. The chablis was quite acidic and went well with the acidity of the pickled fennel, but the wine had a strong bitter note with the dish that it didn’t have when we tried it before the dish. 7/10

Zucchini soup and deep fried zucchini flower with raw scampi, hazelnut, and mispel, paired with a Portuguese white bossa (a local grape) from Beira Atlantico. The wine didn’t clash but didn’t do anything special either. I liked the courgette flower, but overall the dish was a bit low in taste. 7/10

Gurnard with crispy breadcrumbs and sage, artichoke, pickled mushrooms, and anchovies-garlic mayo. There was also a special type of herb that I had never seen or tasted before that was very fresh. The fish with the mayo was very nice. The fish was very crispy and almost (but not quite) overcooked. The wine pairing with an original tasting malvasia from Croatia again did not clash but did not make the dish or the wine taste any better either. 8/10

John Dory with tomato, smoked eel, ginger butter sauce, and kohlrabi, paired with a rosé from Provence. The fish was perfectly cooked and very tasty. The wine didn’t work very well with the butter sauce, but did work well with the other components on the plate. 8/10

The palette of individually prepared vegetables (raw, cooked, and marinated) is the signature dish of the chef. It is nice to eat at a restaurant of this level and get so many vegetables instead of a protein overdose. We even increased the amount of veggies by choosing this over the veal sweetbread. The veggies were all nice, but not special. The cava (Spanish sparkling wine) was a good match. 8/10

The main dish was oriental in style: duck breast with five-spice flavored duck demi-glace, poached prunes and snow peas. The duck was tender, but the skin wasn’t crispy. The poached prunes were nice, and I really liked the presentation of the snow peas with sesame seed that were cut as to resemble a Japanese seaweed salad. I liked the full flavor of the sauce, although there was perhaps a bit too much sichuan pepper in it. The matching Swiss red was not available and was substituted with a red from Rousillon that was not fruity enough for this dish. 8/10

The palate cleanser was quite sweet for a palate cleanser, but nice all the same.
The chocolate tart with rum ice cream was quite nice, and served with a Cream sherry (basically a thin version of PX). 8/10

The dinner was concluded with a nice selection of petit fours that came with our coffee and tea.

The food at Vermeer is good, especially if you like vegetables. The level of the dishes is quite constant, but less than at Bord’eau (which also had one star when I dined at Vermeer, now two, and similar prices), so I’m scoring 8/10 for the food. None of the wines pairings stood out, and although all the wines were good they did not stand out either, so 7/10 for the wine. The service was mostly fine, although on a few occasions we had to wait a bit too long, so 7.5/10 for the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent meal December 2013. The dining experience was exceptional, food amazing and staff very knowledgeably. Pre dinner drinks were severed by an open log fire, followed by the 7 course with matching wines menu. Our Sommelier 'Wesley' described each wine to perfection and offered alternatives for those who had a different palette. As each course arrived different Chefs would present and describe the dish, a great added touch.
Overall couldn't fault this for a business or special occasion, and as located by Centraal Station is positioned well to explore Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

In Amsterdam, if you would like a superb Michelin star dinner served by an extraordinary staff that manages to combine a respectful attitude with a quality of personal friendliness, you should not miss the Vermeer Restaurant. We started with aperitif before a cozy fire in the lounge, where we were served first one amuse bouche and then another. One was prepared dramatically before our eyes by freezing a tarragon sauce with dry ice. I ordered the four-course menu and my husband the seven-course menu with wine pairing. Each course was served with the same graceful but friendly attitude by the servers, who gave interesting explanations of the creative and extremely delicious combination of local ingredients by their talented chef. We would definitely recommend the wine pairing, since the sommelier was amazing and had chosen excellent wines - in some cases unusual choices - all of which we loved. We asked for and received a list of the wines so that we could try to duplicate them at home. This was one of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had and one I would recommend to all our friends. We are eager to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vermeer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.