We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we liked it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72 (NH Barbizon Palace Hotel), 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-556-4885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $30 - $36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“we liked it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

me and my girlfriend liked this restaurant. it's very nice and the staff is great.
the food is very good and the prices are fair.
thank you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    22
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Superb food, excellent atmosphere, attentive service, thoroughly enjoyable. Surprisingly large portions, especially after all the delicious little treats from the chef. Really enjoyed that the main course was brought out by the chef and 'explained' to you, nice touch. One very, very minor fault was when our fizzy water was given to the table next to us - probably irritated them more than us as they were drinking something different! But the water was taken off the bill. The waiters and staff were delightful, perfect English and charming with it. They dressed in a delightfully unstuffy fashion, making you feel more relaxed in their very pretty dining room. The attached hotel looked pretty nice as well, we stopped off in the hotel bar for a quick drink beforehand and really liked it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb Food with Matching Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This restaurant based in the NH Barbizon Palace Hotel near Central Sq is absolutely fabulous. The food is perfectly cooked and presented and the wine chosen expertly to compliment it. The restaurant is expensive but it has a quality to match, with extremely good service and friendly, attentive staff. If you want to spoil yourself with some great food and wine then this is for you. Enjoy !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Top service with interesting food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just arrived in Amsterdam after a three hour high speed train ride from Paris. We checked into our hotel, the NH Barbizon Palace, and found ourselves too tired to head out to find a quick bite. Our meal at the hotel Restaurant Vermeer took over two hours so I defeated the purpose of a quick meal followed by a good night's rest.

To answer your possible query as to now many courses we ordered, the answer was only two. We ended up with six by the time the chef favored us with his "amuses". All courses were of the high caliber you would expect from a Michelin Star restaurant. And all were avant guard created with foams and cooking techniques that were beyond my analysis. This was the last night of service before the restaurant closed for a six week vacation so maybe the chef was cleaning out the fridge.

Since the menu changes each night based of seasonally available ingredients I will not attempt to remember what we had in this review. Let's just say you can't go wrong if you pick this excellent spot when they reopen in September.

Service was handled by a great staff of four working our table. They were attentive to our inquiries about the city and the ubiquitous bicycles zooming by outside. Perfect English changed to Asian and Italian for the other two tables at our early dining hour(s).

Bill with wine came to 151.00€. Not cheap, but real good.

We will be back next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We opened the entrance foor and the staff were immediately attentive. This continued throughout the dinner without being intrusive. Yet the waiters were engaging when we asked questions. The sommelier was particularly responsive. One of my usual subtle trick is to get up, roll up the napkin and leave it on the table see the response. I returned a few moments later to have a new one neatly placed on my setting. If only more restaurants in our home town were like this. The food was excellent. We chose a four course meal which really turned out to be 7 with all additional small additions - mainly froths thoughs. The reataurants change the menu according to the seasonal produce so white asparagus featured menu is approaching the end of the season. The accompanying wines match nicely. We're off to La Rive in a few nights so it will be nice to compare. Nonetheless, Vermeer is worth a visit in Amsterdam especially if you enjoy French influenced fine dinning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vermeer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.