We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service with interesting food...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72 (NH Barbizon Palace Hotel), 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-556-4885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Top service with interesting food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just arrived in Amsterdam after a three hour high speed train ride from Paris. We checked into our hotel, the NH Barbizon Palace, and found ourselves too tired to head out to find a quick bite. Our meal at the hotel Restaurant Vermeer took over two hours so I defeated the purpose of a quick meal followed by a good night's rest.

To answer your possible query as to now many courses we ordered, the answer was only two. We ended up with six by the time the chef favored us with his "amuses". All courses were of the high caliber you would expect from a Michelin Star restaurant. And all were avant guard created with foams and cooking techniques that were beyond my analysis. This was the last night of service before the restaurant closed for a six week vacation so maybe the chef was cleaning out the fridge.

Since the menu changes each night based of seasonally available ingredients I will not attempt to remember what we had in this review. Let's just say you can't go wrong if you pick this excellent spot when they reopen in September.

Service was handled by a great staff of four working our table. They were attentive to our inquiries about the city and the ubiquitous bicycles zooming by outside. Perfect English changed to Asian and Italian for the other two tables at our early dining hour(s).

Bill with wine came to 151.00€. Not cheap, but real good.

We will be back next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    22
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We opened the entrance foor and the staff were immediately attentive. This continued throughout the dinner without being intrusive. Yet the waiters were engaging when we asked questions. The sommelier was particularly responsive. One of my usual subtle trick is to get up, roll up the napkin and leave it on the table see the response. I returned a few moments later to have a new one neatly placed on my setting. If only more restaurants in our home town were like this. The food was excellent. We chose a four course meal which really turned out to be 7 with all additional small additions - mainly froths thoughs. The reataurants change the menu according to the seasonal produce so white asparagus featured menu is approaching the end of the season. The accompanying wines match nicely. We're off to La Rive in a few nights so it will be nice to compare. Nonetheless, Vermeer is worth a visit in Amsterdam especially if you enjoy French influenced fine dinning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“High quality food and service, but at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from Amsterdam where we had a business dinner for 5 at Vermeer. The restaurant is in a older building very close to the central station. There is one large window with a view of the station, but unless you are at the front table, you will only have an interior view. The options for dinner are either a 4 course preset menu, 7 course preset menu or the al a carte menu. I chose the al a carte, whereas the rest of the group chose the 4 course.

The food is definitely French inspired and unique, with many flavors mixed together. The garden salad contained many marinated and raw vegetables along with Morocco spiced tartar meat. The 2nd course was nice filet of salmon whereas I had the halibut. Everyone said they enjoyed it, but my mixed vegetables that were served with the halibut were out of this world! The 3rd course for the others was pigeon which they said was excellent. For dessert I had a coffee souflee with lemon tart ice cream, whereas they had a strawberry beet dessert. Once again very nice. Each course had a paired wine with it.

Although we only had 3-4 "official" courses, there were another 5-6 small courses provided. Many of these courses used asparagus foam, pea foam or mushrooms in their base. Very flavorable and light. Bread was also availalbe throughtout the meal.

Total cost was 140 euros/person. Several at the table thought it was the best meal they have ever eaten. They also enjoyed the wine sommelier's extravegant stories.

Overall - great food and great service, but over priced for what you get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Half the stars it deserves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant delivers at least two star cuisine, and compares more than favourably to the three star establishments I've enjoyed. Nothing could be faulted, and every course brought both surprise and delight. If you're looking for a memorable experience, and you're happy to pay for it, this is it. Do the full seven courses, with the wine accompaniment, and you'll remember it with joy forever.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Almost everything at least very good; some stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the 7 courses menu. As someone said, by the time you add everything else in, it gets to 14. The amuse bouches were great, the rhubarb macerated with sugar and pepper is probably the perfect appetiser. The langoustine and fennel dish with wild garlic is probably one of the nicest things I have ever eaten, and not a combination I had had before. The wine matching was interesting, and creative (eg perry for one course. Possibly too many foams - seemed to have a fixation with these

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vermeer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.