We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food and service, but at a price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72 (NH Barbizon Palace Hotel), 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
020-556-4885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 2,542 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“High quality food and service, but at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from Amsterdam where we had a business dinner for 5 at Vermeer. The restaurant is in a older building very close to the central station. There is one large window with a view of the station, but unless you are at the front table, you will only have an interior view. The options for dinner are either a 4 course preset menu, 7 course preset menu or the al a carte menu. I chose the al a carte, whereas the rest of the group chose the 4 course.

The food is definitely French inspired and unique, with many flavors mixed together. The garden salad contained many marinated and raw vegetables along with Morocco spiced tartar meat. The 2nd course was nice filet of salmon whereas I had the halibut. Everyone said they enjoyed it, but my mixed vegetables that were served with the halibut were out of this world! The 3rd course for the others was pigeon which they said was excellent. For dessert I had a coffee souflee with lemon tart ice cream, whereas they had a strawberry beet dessert. Once again very nice. Each course had a paired wine with it.

Although we only had 3-4 "official" courses, there were another 5-6 small courses provided. Many of these courses used asparagus foam, pea foam or mushrooms in their base. Very flavorable and light. Bread was also availalbe throughtout the meal.

Total cost was 140 euros/person. Several at the table thought it was the best meal they have ever eaten. They also enjoyed the wine sommelier's extravegant stories.

Overall - great food and great service, but over priced for what you get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    26
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Half the stars it deserves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant delivers at least two star cuisine, and compares more than favourably to the three star establishments I've enjoyed. Nothing could be faulted, and every course brought both surprise and delight. If you're looking for a memorable experience, and you're happy to pay for it, this is it. Do the full seven courses, with the wine accompaniment, and you'll remember it with joy forever.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Almost everything at least very good; some stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the 7 courses menu. As someone said, by the time you add everything else in, it gets to 14. The amuse bouches were great, the rhubarb macerated with sugar and pepper is probably the perfect appetiser. The langoustine and fennel dish with wild garlic is probably one of the nicest things I have ever eaten, and not a combination I had had before. The wine matching was interesting, and creative (eg perry for one course. Possibly too many foams - seemed to have a fixation with these

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Multi course dinner accompanied by excellent wines. I especially enjoyed the asparagus soup, the fish

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Art Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Not being impressed by plates of food that are more art than substance, I feel my review may offend the more "artisan" conneseurs of refreshment.
Thankfully, it was a company expedition so I did not pay. In fact I am happy that I do not have the financial resources to waste on such food er tainment!
menu was set 3 course- non of which I found even slightly enjoyable, cost was horrendous.
We were a party of 25, multinational. When I indicated I would leave to find something to eat, i was pleasantly surprised to see that I would be joined by 6 other international guests.
Service was, as it should have been-exemplary, & the wine was also very good

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vermeer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.