We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half the stars it deserves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vermeer

Restaurant Vermeer
Prins Hendrikkade 59-72 (NH Barbizon Palace Hotel), Amsterdam 1012, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-556-4885
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #31 of 2,147 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Reading
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Half the stars it deserves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant delivers at least two star cuisine, and compares more than favourably to the three star establishments I've enjoyed. Nothing could be faulted, and every course brought both surprise and delight. If you're looking for a memorable experience, and you're happy to pay for it, this is it. Do the full seven courses, with the wine accompaniment, and you'll remember it with joy forever.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    79
    15
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Almost everything at least very good; some stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the 7 courses menu. As someone said, by the time you add everything else in, it gets to 14. The amuse bouches were great, the rhubarb macerated with sugar and pepper is probably the perfect appetiser. The langoustine and fennel dish with wild garlic is probably one of the nicest things I have ever eaten, and not a combination I had had before. The wine matching was interesting, and creative (eg perry for one course. Possibly too many foams - seemed to have a fixation with these

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Multi course dinner accompanied by excellent wines. I especially enjoyed the asparagus soup, the fish

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Art Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Not being impressed by plates of food that are more art than substance, I feel my review may offend the more "artisan" conneseurs of refreshment.
Thankfully, it was a company expedition so I did not pay. In fact I am happy that I do not have the financial resources to waste on such food er tainment!
menu was set 3 course- non of which I found even slightly enjoyable, cost was horrendous.
We were a party of 25, multinational. When I indicated I would leave to find something to eat, i was pleasantly surprised to see that I would be joined by 6 other international guests.
Service was, as it should have been-exemplary, & the wine was also very good

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We had the 7 course tasting menu, but ultimately received over 14 different courses once you factor in the amuse bouches and pre-dessert offering as well. The service was top-notch and the sommelier was very helpful in suggesting an excellent wine to pair with our meal. The chef was very accommodating of my food restrictions. All in all an amazing 4.5+ hour meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vermeer also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vermeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Vermeer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.